Jeff Gordon Drives to Record-Setting 5th Win at Brickyard 400

Jeff Gordon celebrates after winning the NASCAR Brickyard 400 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, July 27, 2014. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)
Darron Cummings/Associated Press
Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffJuly 28, 2014

With Sunday's victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Jeff Gordon became the first driver in NASCAR history with five wins at the Brickyard 400, per NASCAR on Twitter.

Before Sunday's race, only Formula One's Michael Schumacher had won more than four races at the fabled track in Indianapolis. The German racing legend captured five victories at the United States Grand Prix, which was held at Indy from 2000 to 2007.

Running in second place with 17 laps to go, Gordon took the final lead of the race off a caution restart on his way to his second win of the 2014 season and the 90th of his storied career. Gordon charged past the current race leader and teammate Kasey Kahne entering Turn 1 and was never challenged thereafter on his way to the checkered flag.

Only the great David Pearson (105) and King Richard Petty (200) have more NASCAR wins, per ESPN Stats & Info.

Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jimmie Johnson also entered Sunday's race looking for his fifth Brickyard win, but he'll have to wait for at least another year. Indianapolis 500 legends A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser also have four wins at Indy's 2.5-mile oval.

Earlier in the week, and perhaps as a forecast to Sunday’s race result, Indianapolis Mayor Gregory Ballard declared Sunday as "Jeff Gordon Day" to commemorate the 20th Anniversary of the very first Brickyard 400, which Gordon won in 1994. Gordon has since followed up the inaugural Brickyard 400 win with checkered flags in 1998, 2001, 2004 and now 2014.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices