Germany Becomes 3rd Country to Win World Cup at Least 4 Times

Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffJuly 15, 2014

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - JULY 13:  Mario Goetze (R) of Germany celebrates scoring his team's first goal with Andre Schuerrle during the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Final match between Germany and Argentina at Maracana on July 13, 2014 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  (Photo by Matthias Hangst/Getty Images)
Matthias Hangst/Getty Images

With Sunday's 1-0 extra-time defeat of Argentina in the World Cup final, Germany joined Italy and Brazil as the only four-time winners of the tournament, per ESPN FC.

Brazil, of course, have won a record five times, most recently at the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

Italy are even with Germany on four World Cup titles, having most recently triumphed at the 2006 tournament in Germany.

Had Argentina won Sunday's match, they would have joined the aforementioned three nations as the only three-time winners.

However, it was the Germans who ultimately found glory, thanks to a beautiful 113th-minute goal from substitute Mario Goetze.

Per ESPN Stats & Info, Goetze and teammate Andre Schurrle became the first players born in a unified Germany to appear in a World Cup.

Coincidentally, it was these two who linked up for the winning goal, with Schurrle providing the cross that Goetze hammered in.

Looking forward to the 2018 World Cup in Russia, there will be no candidates to join the four-time winners club. Uruguay and Argentina have two titles apiece, while England, Spain and France each claim a lone World Cup triumph.

As for Brazil's record of five titles, the standard will likely be in danger. With players like Goetze, Schurrle and Silver Boot winner Thomas Mueller expected back to defend their title, the Germans will surely shape up as one of the stronger sides for 2018.