Kolkata vs. Punjab, IPL Final 2014: Highlights, Scorecard and Report

Gianni Verschueren@ReverschPassFeatured ColumnistJune 1, 2014

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRCA - OCTOBER 21:   Lakshmipathy Balaji of the Kolkata Knight Riders celebrates a wicket during the Champions league twenty20 match between CLT20 Kolkata Knight Riders v Nashua Titans at Sahara Park Newlands on October 21, 2012 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Carl Fourie / Gallo Images/Getty Images)
Gallo Images/Getty Images

Kolkata Knight Riders (200/7) defeated Kings XI Punjab (199/4) by three wickets to win the 2014 Pepsi Indian Premier League, their second IPL title in the team's history.   

After the victory, their official Twitter account shared the deserved excitement:

Knight Riders batsmen came through when they needed to the most, scoring plenty of runs in the middle overs to set up a dramatic finish.

As shared by Freddie Wilde, fans were obviously excited for the final, the culmination of an exciting season of IPL cricket:

History was on the side of Punjab for the team to win their first title:

Kings XI made changes to their order and started their innings slowly, with early dismissals for Virender Sehwag (seven runs from 10 balls) and George Bailey (one from two) threatening their chances.

Kings XI Punjab (199/4)
Virender Sehwagc Gautam Gambhir b Umesh Yadav71070.0010
Manan Vohrac & b Piyush Chawla6752128.8462
George Baileyb Sunil Narine1250.0000
Wriddhiman SahaNOT OUT11555209.09108
Glenn Maxwellc Morne Morkel b Piyush Chawla010.0000
David MillerNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 3, lb 4)8
TOTAL (4 wickets; 20 overs)199TOTAL (4 wickets; 20 overs)199TOTAL
Morne Morkel440010.008
Umesh Yadav43919.759
Sunil Narine446111.509
Shakib Al Hasan42606.507
Piyush Chawla444211.007

The duo of Glenn Maxwell and David Miller were pushed down the order, and the results in the early proceedings weren't pretty. Morne Morkel (four overs, 40 runs) and Sunil Narine (four overs, 46 runs, one wicket) appeared to be in full control during the first few overs, and the powerplay didn't go well for Punjab.

Wilde shared this statistic:

Alternative Cricket also didn't agree with the decision to push Maxwell down the order, despite his lack of form:

But Manan Vohra made up for Sehwag's early dismissal with 67 from 52, and Wriddhiman Saha's contribution of 115 from 55 not out was simply monstrous.

Narine in particular suddenly started to struggle, and Punjab took full advantage. Per Wilde, Saha's output set a new IPL finals record:

The difference between the early and middle overs was incredible, as Knight Riders' bowlers really lost their way:

Saha and Vohra kept up their incredible pace, and their production was very much needed, as Maxwell and Miller were held to just a single run between the two of them, setting a target of 200.

Kolkata's vaunted bowling attack really let them down during Punjab's innings, and when it was their time to bat, they knew the chase would be a difficult one. Kings XI couldn't celebrate yet, however, as shared by the team's Twitter account:

In-form Robin Uthappa started well with a four from the very first delivery, but he was caught on just his third ball and contributed no more than five runs.

Gautam Gambhir (23) and Manish Pandey started to get into a rhythm, both players feeling comfortable against Punjab's spin-bowling as they kept pace with the required run rate. 

Kolkata Knight Riders (200/7)
Robin Uthappac Akshar Patel b Mitchell Johnson53166.6610
Gautam Gambhirc David Miller b Karanveer Singh2317135.2930
Manish Pandeyc George Bailey b Karanveer Singh9450188.0076
Yusuf Pathanc Glenn Maxwell b Karanveer Singh3622163.6304
Shakib Al Hasanrun out (George Bailey)127171.4220
Ryan ten Doeschatec David Miller b Karanveer Singh43133.3310
Suryakumar Yadavc Manan Vohra b Mitchell Johnson5683.3300
Piyush ChawlaNOT OUT135260.0011
Sunil NarineNOT OUT2450.0000
EXTRAS (w 6)6
TOTAL (7 wickets; 19.3 overs)200TOTAL (7 wickets; 19.3 overs)200TOTAL
Mitchell Johnson441210.258
Lakshmipathy Balaji441010.256
Parvinder Awana3.343012.283
Karanveer Singh454413.509
Akshar Patel42105.2510

Punjab's bowling wasn't seen as their strongest feature coming into this final, but inspired by the young Akshar Patel (four overs, 21 runs), Kings XI started to get a grip on the match in the middle overs. Facing Pandey and Yusuf Pathan, it looked like the chase would be decided at this stage. 

The smaller pitch at Bangalore's Chinnaswamy Stadium favours batsmen, however, giving Kolkata a chance to complete a 200-run chase. Pathan's power shone bright, but he was caught by Maxwell, scoring 36 from 22. With 30 balls still to be bowled, Kings XI's Twitter account summed up the situation:

Pandey kept up the good work finding the boundaries, but team-mates Shakib Al Hasan (12) and Ryan ten Doeschate (4) were forced to take too many chances, the chase coming down to the wire. Punjab's fielding was making the difference, and Pandey eventually found his end at the hands of Bailey, going for 94 from 50.

Kolkata showed great patience in the last overs, and a six from Piyush Chawla on the last ball of the penultimate over left the team needing just five from six balls. Chawla kept his composure and finished the match with a four, completing an epic chase to give his team the championship.

Pathan told ESPN Cricinfo he was very happy with the win, particularly after he got dismissed in a clumsy way:

"I shouldn't have played that shot. We might have finished the match two overs earlier."

Shakib kept his comments short and simple:

"Two times in three years. Can't feel better!"

Kolkata started IPL7 slowly but won their final nine matches, as the team's batsmen were able to take advantage of sensational bowling from Morkel and Narine. With those two struggling in the final, Knight Riders showed everyone they were the most complete team, completing a massive chase of 200.

The team will join Punjab as favourites for the T20 Champions League later this season, as both teams go looking for their very first win in that competition.


    BCCI Clears Central Contract Payments For Players

    Cricket logo

    BCCI Clears Central Contract Payments For Players

    Samrat Chakraborty
    via NDTVSports.com

    Sri Lanka trio admit 'serious law breach' over delay in play

    Cricket logo

    Sri Lanka trio admit 'serious law breach' over delay in play

    BBC Sport
    via BBC Sport

    Disability Cricket: Cricket opens plenty of new doors for Fred Bridges

    Cricket logo

    Disability Cricket: Cricket opens plenty of new doors for Fred Bridges

    via The Cricket Paper

    Sri Lanka Admit To Breaching ICC Code Of Conduct

    Cricket logo

    Sri Lanka Admit To Breaching ICC Code Of Conduct

    Jaideep Ghosh
    via NDTVSports.com