Grand Prix of Spain 2014: MotoGP Race Schedule, Live Stream and Top Riders

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Grand Prix of Spain 2014: MotoGP Race Schedule, Live Stream and Top Riders
Victor R. Caivano/Associated Press

In the fourth stage of this year's MotoGP calendar, the Circuito de Jerez will play host to the biggest names of the brand as Marc Marquez looks to open up his lead at the head of the riders' standings.

The young Spaniard has won all three stages of the 2014 season thus far and, alongside Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, the pair are giving their manufacturer a healthy position in the rankings, too.

Will we see an underdog emerge from the shade to end Marquez's glittering start to the campaign, or is it set to be another rudimentary day's work for the sport's newest sensation? 

Read ahead for all the event's essential details, as well as a breakdown of the key names to watch out for.

 

Date: Sunday, May 4

Time: 1 p.m. BST/8 a.m. ET

Live Stream: BT Sport app (UK, subscription required), Fox Sports GO (US, subscription required)

TV Info: BT Sport 2 (UK) Fox Sports 1 (US)

2014 MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix Race Schedule
Event Date Start Time End TIme (Estimate)
Free Practice 1 May 2 8.55 a.m. BST/3.55a.m. ET 9.40 a.m. BST/4.40 a.m. ET
Free Practice 2 May 2 1.05 p.m. BST/8.05 a.m. ET 1.50 p.m. BST/8.50 a.m. ET
Free Practice 3 May 3 8.55 a.m. BST/3.55a.m. ET 9.40 a.m. BST/4.40 a.m. ET
Free Practice 4 May 3 12.30 p.m. BST/7.30 a.m. ET 1 p.m. BST/8 a.m. ET
Qualifying 1 May 3 1.10 p.m. BST/8.10 a.m. ET 1.25 p.m. BST/8.25 a.m. ET
Qualifying 2 May 3 1.35 p.m. BST/8.35 a.m. ET 1.50 p.m. BST/8.50 a.m. ET
Race May 4 1 p.m. BST/8 a.m. ET N/A

MotoGP.com

  

Top Riders

Marc Marquez

Natacha Pisarenko/Associated Press

Building on the incredible foundations he established in his maiden MotoGP season last year, Marquez has done magnificently to recover from the broken fibula he suffered just two months ago, per BBC Sport, to begin this term in the fashion he has.

All injuries aside, the 21-year-old's beginning is a marvel by regular standards, but now Marquez is on course to break the four-win streak he managed in the middle of last season when he arrives in Jerez.

The starlet is evidently looking forward to the visit if his Twitter activity is anything to go by:

Last year, the Spanish Grand Prix was third in the calendar instead of fourth, and Marquez will be hoping that with a great deal more experience under his belt, he'll be able to do better than 2013's second-place finish.

 

Dani Pedrosa

First on last year's podium was none other than Marquez's Spanish compatriot and team-mate Pedrosa, who will seek to engineer a similar stroke of luck upon returning to the venue.

So far this season, Pedrosa has been playing second fiddle to Marquez, but he is sticking close on his countryman's tail after placing third, second and second, respectively, in the first three stages.

MotoGP Fan Zone shows that Pedrosa has a liking for the Spanish Grand Prix, having finished with a podium place on eight occasions:

However, podium finishes alone won't win the 28-year-old a 2014 title, and the brakes need to be put on Marquez if Pedrosa is to take any sort of individual glory, although the needs of the team will undoubtedly come first.

 

Valentino Rossi

Victor R. Caivano/Associated Press

No rider in history has won the Spanish Grand Prix more times than veteran Valentino Rossi, whose six premier-class triumphs on Spanish soil speak of the Italian's skill, per MotoGP's official website.

That being said, the Yamaha representative could only manage a fourth-place finish here last year, and he'll have a hard time breaking up Honda's grip on the standings.

But if there was any rider capable of doing so at this particular race, one would think it's the experienced Rossi who holds the key, track knowledge and apparent understanding of the conditions needed to triumph in Jerez.

Load More Stories

Team StreamTM

Out of Bounds

NASCAR

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.