Mumbai Indians vs. Hyderabad, IPL 2014: Video Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorApril 30, 2014

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - MARCH 04: David Warner of Australia speaks to the media during a press conference during day 4 of the third test match between South Africa and Australia at Sahara Park Newlands on March 4, 2014 in Cape Town, South Africa.  (Photo by Morne de Klerk/Getty Images)
Morne de Klerk/Getty Images

Mumbai's disastrous defence of their Indian Premier League title continued as they slipped to their fifth successive defeat to start the season.

In the 20th and final game of the tournament to be played in the United Arab Emirates, the Indians went down by 15 runs to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Hyderabad, powered by a 110-run third-wicket partnership between David Warner and Lokesh Rahul, made 172-5 in their 20 overs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Mumbai could only manage 157-7 in their reply, despite a whirlwind 78 from Kieron Pollard.

Hyderabad were 44-2 at the end of the Powerplay after seeing potentially destructive openers Shikhar Dhawan and Aaron Finch dismissed by veteran seamer Zaheer Khan.

However, Australian Warner struck four sixes in his 51-ball 65 as he made his second half-century in three games before departing with 10 balls of the innings left.

Young Rahul, batting at four, worked the ball around in making 46 off 40 before he was removed in the final over.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 172-5 (20 Overs)
Aaron Finchc Ben Dunk b Zaheer Khan1615106.6630
Shikhar Dhawanc Harbhajan Singh b Zaheer Khan66100.0010
Lokesh Rahulc CM Gautam b Lasith Malinga4640115.0030
David Warnerc CM Gautam b Corey Anderson6551127.4514
Darren Sammyc Kieron Pollard b Corey Anderson104250.0011
Naman OjhaNOT OUT104250.0020
Irfan PathanNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 12, lb 5)18
Zaheer Khan402626.508
Lasith Malinga402817.007
Pragyan Ojha3043014.333
Harbhajan Singh401604.009
Kieron Pollard403609.003
Corey Anderson1018218.003

In their reply, Mumbai slumped to 8-2 in the third over with captain Rohit Sharma and powerful New Zealander Corey Anderson both making just one.

Ben Dunk, the top scorer in the 2014 Big Bash League, replaced Michael Hussey at the top of the order but departed for 20 with just 32 on the board at the end of the Powerplay.

However, a partnership of 77 between Ambati Rayudu and Pollard gave Mumbai hope. The Indian was caught in the deep by Warner from Irfan Pathan's second ball for 35, but Trinidadian Pollard reached his first half-century of this year's tournament.

He then smashed 26 off the 17th over of the innings bowled by Amit Mishra. However, he faced just four balls in the next two overs and 20 was needed off Pathan's final over.

Pollard played on to the first delivery and went after hitting six maximums from 47 balls. With him went Mumbai's chances as Hyderabad moved to four points after their second win.

Mumbai Indians: 157-7 (20 Overs)
Ben Dunkb Darren Sammy2017117.6440
Rohit Sharmab Bhuvneshwar Kumar1520.0000
Corey Andersonc Naman Ojha b Dale Steyn1812.5000
Ambati Rayuduc David Warner b Irfan Pathan3527129.6250
Kieron Pollardb Irfan Pathan7848162.5036
Aditya Tarec Naman Ojha b Dale Steyn75140.0010
Harbhajan Singhc Shikhar Dhawan b Bhuvneshwar Kumar1333.3300
CM GautamNOT OUT4580.0010
Zaheer KhanNOT OUT1250.0000
EXTRAS (w 6, b 2, lb 1)9
Dale Steyn402025.0015
Bhuvneshwar Kumar401724.2516
Karan Sharma403308.258
Darren Sammy2020110.002
Amit Mishra4054013.505
Irfan Pathan201025.004

There is a rest day on Thursday before the tournament resumes with the first match on Indian soil as Chennai Super Kings face Kolkata Knight Riders.