Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Kolkata Knight Riders: Highlights, Card, Report

Lee Walker@@Lee_BleacherRUK Managing EditorApril 24, 2014

HOBART, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 29:  Chris Lynn of Australia signs autographs for fans during game one of the International Twenty20 series between Australia and England at Blundstone Arena on January 29, 2014 in Hobart, Australia.  (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)
Michael Dodge/Getty Images

Royal Challengers Bangalore lost their unbeaten record in the 2014 Indian Premier League after a two-run defeat to Kolkata Knight Riders.

Bangalore, who won the toss and elected to field, restricted their opponents to 150-7 in their 20 overs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

They looked to be cruising to a third successive victory at 116-2 after 15 overs but fell short, with Chris Lynn taking a remarkable catch in the final over to prevent AB de Villiers from hitting a winning six.

Kolkata, the 2012 champions, had a terrible start. Captain Gautam Gambhir departed first ball to record his third consecutive duck in the tournament.

Manish Pandey went in the next over, but Jacques Kallis and young Australian Lynn put on 79 for the third wicket.

Lynn hit three sixes in his 45 from 31 balls before becoming the first of three victims for Varun Aaron, who removed Yusuf Pathan two balls later for zero.

South African veteran Kallis went with the score on 107 in the 16th over, the opener making 43 from 42 balls, but Suryakumar Yadav did his best to boost the total with an unbeaten 24.

Kolkata Knight Riders: 150-7 (20 Overs)
Jacques Kallisc Yogesh Takawale b Yuzvendra Chahal4342102.3821
Gautam Gambhirlbw Mitchell Starc010.0000
Manish Pandeyc Virat Kohli b Albie Morkel53166.6610
Chris Lynnc AB de Villiers b Varun Aaron4531145.1633
Yusuf Pathanc Virat Kohli b Varun Aaron020.0000
Robin Uthappac Mitchell Starc b Varun Aaron2218122.2201
Suryakumar YadavNOT OUT2418133.3311
Vinay KumarNOT OUT4580.0000
EXTRAS (w 4, b 1, lb 2)77EXTRAS
Mitchell Starc403318.258
Albie Morkel2021110.504
Varun Aaron401634.0013
Muttiah Muralitharan2025012.502
Yuzvendra Chahal402616.507
Ashok Dinda402606.504

In their reply, RCB openers Parthiv Patel and Yogesh Takawale put on 49 without loss in the powerplay.

Both Takawale (40 from 28 balls) and Patel (21 from 19) fell with the score on 78, but key men Virat Kohli and Yuvraj Singh picked up the mantle.

However, skipper Kohli and Yuvraj both departed for 31off 23 and 33 balls, respectivelywhich left nine runs needed off the final over from Vinay Kumar.

After three singles, de Villiers looked like he had won it, only for Lynn to pluck the ball out of the air after slipping. Albie Morkel was unable to find the boundary from the final two balls.

Bangalore: 148-5 (20 Overs)
Parthiv Patelc Chris Lynn b Vinay Kumar2119110.5230
Yogesh Takawalelbw Jacques Kallis4028142.8580
Virat Kohlib Sunil Narine3123134.7840
Yuvraj Singhc Yusuf Pathan b Umesh Yadav313491.1721
AB de Villiersc Chris Lynn b Vinay Kumar111291.6610
Albie MorkelNOT OUT65120.0000
Mitchell StarcNOT OUT000.0000
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 2, lb 5)88
Umesh Yadav4040110.009
Morne Morkel403408.5010
Sunil Narine401714.2514
Vinay Kumar402626.506
Jacques Kallis402616.5010

RCB next face Rajasthan Royals on Saturday, while Kolkata meet Kings XI Punjab later that day.