Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka, 1st T20: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistFebruary 10, 2014

Bangladesh's Abdur Razzak, right, congratulates Ziaur Rahman after the dismissal of West Indies' Kieron Pollard, unseen, during their Twenty20 cricket match in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Monday, Dec. 10, 2012. (AP Photo/Pavel Rahman)
Pavel Rahman/Associated Press

After Sri Lanka won the Test series 1-0 over Bangladesh, the two teams begin their two-match Twenty20 International series in Chittagong with a day/night encounter.

Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong

Date: Wednesday, February 12

Start time: 11 a.m. GMT

Live on: Star Cricket (Asia), Zee Cinema (UK), Willow TV (USA)

Weather: According to AccuWeather, it promises to be a sunny day with temperatures reaching 28 degrees Celsius. 



The limited-overs section of Sri Lanka’s tour of Bangladesh begins after a successful 1-0 win in the Test series for the visitors.

Their victory came in the first game in Mirpur by an innings and 248 runs, as Bangladesh crumbled twice for 250 or less while the Sri Lankans piled up 730 in their only knock.

In the second game, the hosts were much improved with the bat as they saw the game out for a draw in Chittagong despite conceding a first-innings lead of 161.

For this series, Bangladesh do have some injury concerns as captain and wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim will miss both Twenty20 matches with a small fracture in his left finger.

At the time of writing, the home side are yet to name a replacement skipper, but with Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza in their squad, they are not short of potential leaders.

For Sri Lanka, Thisara Perera has been selected despite having been refused permission to play in the recent Big Bash League after questions over his work ethic.

Lasith Malinga has also proved his fitness after making a return to Sri Lanka before he played in the BBL semi-final for the Melbourne Stars.

This series will be crucial for both sides as they build towards the ICC World Twenty20, to be held in Bangladesh in March. 

Team News

Bangladesh (from): Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mithun Ali, Mominul Hoque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Shabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Farhad Reza, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain

Sri Lanka (from): Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Angelo Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Seekuge Prasanna. 

A.M.Ahad/Associated Press

Key Players

Tamim Iqbal

At the top of the order, Tamim Iqbal remains crucial if Bangladesh are to build a big total.

With his hard hitting, if Iqbal is in form he can make life very difficult for opposition bowlers and he has the ability to dominate any attack.

Lasith Malinga

Taking the new ball for Sri Lanka will be Lasith Malinga, who remains their most potent bowler in Twenty20 Internationals.

With his pace combined with swing and seam movement, Malinga is still one of the best bowlers in limited-overs cricket and will be key for the visitors once again.