2008 Armer Award: Nominate Now Bleacher Report!

Ken ArmerSenior Writer IApril 15, 2008

With fever on Bleacher Report growing about who should win the Conn Smythe, I decided I would begin nominations for an award I will hand out (not literally, only by writing an article about the player selected) after the Stanley Cup has been awarded.

Nominee's for the Armer award must be leaders on their team and lead by example. A Captain or Alternate makes no difference in selection. I would expect the player to be more of a grinder. My hope is to name a player who may otherwise get no consideration for a trophy.

For Example, As a kid playing my first year of hockey I was a starter on the first line. To be nice about it...I was terrible and at the end of the year I asked my coach why I had been a starter while being the worst player on the team. The coach replied that I was a "selfless and driven player who put the will of the team above my own." He went on to say we could not have been league champs that year without everyone's hard work and talents, even me. The player who is selected for the award/article at the end of the season must be that type of player.

Points, goals, and penalty minutes make no difference, sometimes the stats we pay the most attention to matter the least. Last year's Armer award recipient is Andy Mcdonald, for his clutch play in the playoffs and being the silent backbone of the Stanley Cup Champion Anaheim Ducks.

Now is where you come in Bleacher Report. I ask that you will consider the above and nominate any player you feel is worth selection. After the Cup Finals I will select from the list above and I'll even mention the one who originally selected him. I only ask you keep it to at most one player per team. Thank you and spread the word, I want the most deserving man in the NHL to win this recognition...sure its not much...but who knows who could read the article.

Please Read : I will accept no more than 2 players per team for now. During the playoffs I will narrow down list to only have one player per team and will accept no more than 60 players to make the list at current time. Keep them coming thanks everyone!

>>Editors: Please do not delete any players from the list, this right is reserved for the Author only. 

Nominations are...

1. Brendon Morrow - Dallas

2. Alex Ovechkin - Washington

3. Steve Begin - Montreal

4. Maxim Lapierre - Montreal

5. Gary Roberts - Pittsburgh

6. Paul Mara - NYR

7. Joe Pavelski – San Jose

8. Curtis Brown – San Jose

9. Travis Moen - Anaheim

10. Keith Carney - Minnesota

11. Tyler Arnason - Colorado

12. Jason Arnott – Nashville

13. Brian Rafalski - Detroit

14. Stephane Yelle - Calgary

15. Stu Barnes - Dallas

16. Todd Marchant - Anaheim 

 **Numbers have no purpose of voting or authors selection, only a system of organization.**