Zimbabwe vs. Pakistan: Scorecard, Recap and More from the 1st ODI in Harare

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterAugust 27, 2013

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - FEBRUARY 11:  Hamilton Masakadza of Zimbabwe bats during the first Twenty20 International between New Zealand and Zimbabwe at Eden Park on February 11, 2012 in Auckland, New Zealand.  (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)
Phil Walter/Getty Images

Zimbabwe pulled off an almighty shock, beating Pakistan by seven wickets in the first match of their ODI series to take a 1-0 lead in the best-of-three contest.

Pakistan set 244-7 from their 50 overs, having won the toss and opted to bat first.

In response, Zimbabwe started well and were in control throughout, sealing a famous win with 10 balls to spare.

Zimbabwe last beat Pakistan in ODI #cricket in November 1998 in Sheikhupura #ZimvPak

— ICC (@cricketicc) August 27, 2013

Here is the story of the match as it unfolded.



Pakistan innings

The tourists began solidly enough in Harare, but without any great urgency. The opening partnership between Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad was worth 56 runs, but took the best part of 15 overs to compile.

The third-wicket stand saw Mohammad Hafeez (70) and his captain Misbah-Ul-Haq (83 not out) add 99 together, but Misbah aside there was a limp finish to the innings, with wickets falling and few telling contributions.

From 179-2 with 12.3 overs remaining, adding just 68 runs for the loss of five wickets was disappointing.

Seamers Tendai Chatara and Brian Vitori were the pick of the bowlers, with 2-32 and 2-42 respectively.



Zimbabwe innings


Zimbabwe held their nerve to make relatively simple work of Pakistan's target and reach it with seven wickets to spare.

The groundwork was laid by a composed stand of 107 for the first wicket, with Vusi Sibanda the first to fall after being trapped lbw by Saeed Ajmal for 54.

Hamilton Masakadza was the lynchpin of the innings (and eventually was awarded man of the match), his 85 including nine fours and a six until Ajmal beat him—one of ODI cricket's leading spinners eventually finishing with 2-44. 

But by the time he fell at 176-2, the momentum was firmly in the hosts' favour. Skipper Brendan Taylor (43 not out) made sure he was there at the end, while Sean Williams (39 from 23 balls) sealed victory in style.

& they've done it!! Zimbabwe beat Pakistan for the first time since Peshawar 1998. Sean Williams ends it with a six. 1-0 lead in the series

— Firdose Moonda (@FirdoseM) August 27, 2013



Here's the full scorecard, via the BBC:

Pakistan Innings 244 for 7 (50.0 overs)

Jamshedc Taylorb Chatara27825320
Shehzadst Taylorb Utseya24614720
Hafeezc Marumab Chatara70927163
Misbah-ul-Haqnot out 831298532
Aminrun out (Vitori) 17100
Shahid Afridic Taylorb Vitori1181520
Sohailc Utseyab Vitori27700
Sarfraz Ahmedrun out (Waller) 7221800
Ajmalnot out 38300
Extras0nb 9w 0b 7lb16 
Totalfor 7244(50.0 ovs)
H Masakadza2.00170
Fall of Wicket 
198Shahid Afridi
223Sarfraz Ahmed

Zimbabwe Innings 246 for 3 (48.2 overs)

H Masakadzac Misbah-ul-Haqb Ajmal8514110491
Sibandalbwb Ajmal54878260
Taylornot out 431025940
Marumac Shehzadb Junaid Khan18262211
Williamsnot out 39232341
Extras0nb 3w 1b 3lb7 
Totalfor 3246(48.2 ovs)
Junaid Khan9.00551
Shahid Afridi9.00510
Fall of Wicket 
176H Masakadza