Winners and Losers from the Brickyard 400

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Winners and Losers from the Brickyard 400
Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Say what you will about stock car racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. On Sunday, the Crown Royal Presents the Samuel Deeds 400 produced one of the most compelling finishes of the season, with nobody knowing until race's end who would take the win.

A plethora of pit stop strategies shuffled the field throughout the latter stages of the race, with Brad Keselowski only yielding the lead to pole-sitter Ryan Newman with a green-flag stop with 12 laps to go. Newman and Jimmie Johnson had dominated the entire race, with one of them all but assured to take the win.

Though Johnson led the majority of laps with 73, it was Newman who brought home a popular victory at his home track by taking only two tires in the final sequence of pit stops.

Who else, besides Newman, took advantage of a big week in NASCAR, one that expanded far beyond the reaches of the fabled Brickyard? And who wishes that he or she could have a do-over?

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.