The British Open 2013: Pairings, Groups and Tee Times Announced for Day 1

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
The British Open 2013: Pairings, Groups and Tee Times Announced for Day 1
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The Open Championship is set to tee off on Thursday from Muirfield in Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland, and all of the best players in the world will be vying for the Claret Jug. Those players also now know which golfers they will be paired with. 

Which group are you most interested in?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Thursday's tee times and groups were announced on Monday, and there is certainly no shortage of interesting threesomes to keep track of once the tournament officially gets off and running.

Some of the most intriguing groups include three-time Open champion Tiger Woods playing with another former Open champion in Louis Oosthuizen, as well as Northern Irish fan favorite Graeme McDowell. The latter's countryman, Rory McIlroy, will play alongside Japan's Hideki Matsuyama and Phil Mickelson, who is coming off a big Scottish Open victory.

Those are just a couple of groups that will be followed closely throughout the day. Here is the full listing of groups and tee times for Thursday's first round of the British Open, courtesy of

Players Tee Time (ET) Tee Time (UK)
Peter Senior, Lloyd Saltman, Oliver Fisher 1:32 a.m. 6:32 a.m.
Robert Karlsson, Todd Hamilton, Ben Stow 1:43 a.m. 6:43 a.m.
Thomas Aiken, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Bud Cauley 1:54 a.m. 6:54 a.m.
Mikko Ilonen, Brooks Koepka, Ashun Wu 2:05 a.m. 7:05 a.m.
David Duval, Bernd Wiesberger, Chris Wood 2:16 a.m. 7:16 a.m.
Scott Stallings, Stewart Cink, Richard McEvoy 2:27 a.m. 7:27 a.m.
K.J. Choi, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jimmy Walker 2:38 a.m. 7:38 a.m.
Ben Curtis, Shane Lowry, Rafael Cabrera-Bello 2:49 a.m. 7:49 a.m.
Jonas Blixt, Brian Davis, Graham Delaet 3 a.m. 8 a.m.
Robert Garrigus, John Senden, Marc Warren 3:11 a.m. 8:11 a.m.
Martin Kaymer, Garrick Porteous, Jason Day 3:22 a.m. 8:22 a.m.
Carl Pettersson, Jason Dufner, David Lynn 3:33 a.m. 8:33 a.m.
Bubba Watson, Nicolas Colsaerts, Dustin Johnson 3:44 a.m. 8:44 a.m.
Nick Faldo, Tom Watson, Fred Couples 4 a.m. 9 a.m.
Justin Rose, Ernie Els, Brandt Snedeker 4:11 a.m. 9:11 a.m.
Ian Poulter, Keegan Bradley, Billy Horschel 4:22 a.m. 9:22 a.m.
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Richard Sterne, Nick Watney 4:33 a.m. 9:33 a.m.
Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama, Phil Mickelson 4:44 a.m. 9:44 a.m.
Scott Piercy, Tim Clark, Kevin Streelman 4:55 a.m. 9:55 a.m.
Zach Johnson, Shingo Katayama, Thomas Bjorn 5:06 a.m. 10:06 a.m.
Angel Cabrera, Camilo Villegas, Tano Goya 5:17 a.m. 10:17 a.m.
George Coetzee, Ken Duke, Mark Calcavecchia 5:28 a.m. 10:28 a.m.
John Huh, Brendan Jones, Hyung-Sung Kim 5:39 a.m. 10:39 a.m.
Josh Teater, Steven Tiley, Jimmy Mullen 5:50 a.m. 10:50 a.m.
K.T. Kim, Steven Jeffress, Luke Guthrie 6:01 a.m. 11:01 a.m.
John Wade, Gareth Wright, Makoto Inoue 6:12 a.m. 11:12 a.m.
Danny Willett, Y.E. Yang, Johnson Wagner 6:33 a.m. 11:33 a.m.
Thaworn Wiratchant, Lucas Glover, Oscar Floren 6:44 a.m. 11:44 a.m.
Boo Weekley, Sandy Lyle, Niclas Fasth 6:55 a.m. 11:55 a.m.
Marcus Fraser, Grant Forrest, Mark O'Meara 7:06 a.m. 12:06 p.m.
Tom Lehman, Thongchai Jaidee, Fredrik Jacobson 7:17 a.m. 12:17 p.m.
Justin Leonard, Rhys Pugh, Marc Leishman 7:28 a.m. 12:28 p.m.
Alvaro Quiros, Kyle Stanley, Alexander Noren 7:39 a.m. 12:39 p.m.
Russell Henley, Jordan Spieth, Matthew Fitzpatrick 7:50 a.m. 12:50 p.m.
Padraig Harrington, Michael Thompson, Richie Ramsay 8:01 a.m. 1:01 p.m.
Vijay Singh, Darren Clarke, Martin Laird 8:12 a.m. 1:12 p.m.
Ryan Moore, Henrik Stenson, Steven Fox 8:23 a.m. 1:23 p.m.
Thorbjorn Olesen, Jim Furyk, Paul Lawrie 8:34 a.m. 1:34 p.m.
Geoff Ogilvy, Harris English, Stephen Gallacher 8:45 a.m. 1:45 p.m.
Lee Westwood, Charl Schwartzel, Sergio Garcia 9:01 a.m. 2:01 p.m.
Adam Scott, Matt Kuchar, Luke Donald 9:12 a.m. 2:12 p.m.
Rickie Fowler, Matteo Manassero, Hunter Mahan 9:23 a.m. 2:23 p.m.
Peter Hanson, Hiroyuki Fujita, Bill Haas 9:34 a.m. 2:34 p.m.
Tiger Woods, Graeme McDowell, Louis Oosthuizen 9:45 a.m. 2:45 p.m.
Webb Simpson, Branden Grace, Jamie Donaldson 9:56 a.m. 2:56 p.m.
Francesco Molinari, Toru Taniguchi, Bo Van Pelt 10:07 a.m. 3:07 p.m.
D.A. Points, Brett Rumford, Marcel Siem 10:18 a.m. 3:18 p.m.
George Murray, Mark Brown, Justin Harding 10:29 a.m. 3:29 p.m.
Gregory Bourdy, Scott Jamieson, Shiv Kapur 10:40 a.m. 3:40 p.m.
Scott Brown, Satoshi Kodaira, Gareth Maybin 10:51 a.m. 3:51 p.m.
Tyrrell Hatton, Eduardo de la Riva, Kenichi Kuboya 11:02 a.m. 4:02 p.m.
Stephen Dartnall, Darryn Lloyd, Daisuke Maruyama 11:13 a.m. 4:13 p.m.


Rob Carr/Getty Images

Tiger Woods hasn't won a major championship since the 2008 U.S. Open, and with each passing major that he doesn't win, his odds of breaking Jack Nicklaus' championship record lessen (Woods has 14, Nicklaus has 18). Woods fully realizes that, and while his shortcomings haven't been for a lack of effort, he will finally break through at Muirfield.

Woods has actually played some great golf over the past couple of years, but his success hasn't translated to the majors. He is in a bit of a downturn right now after a disappointing U.S. Open performance (13-over par), but Woods tends to perform best when the chips are stacked against him.

He has been in contention at most majors for the past two years, but something always happens that knocks him out. Woods will receive a stiff challenge from the likes of Rory McIlroy and a dark-horse candidate in Belgium's Nicolas Colsaerts, but look for him to get back in the winning groove at a major.

Follow @MikeChiari on Twitter

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.