MMADownload App

The Ultimate Fighter Season 16 Finale Live Results and Play by Play

(Photo by Jim Kemper/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)
(Photo by Jim Kemper/Zuffa LLC/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images)Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports
Steven RondinaFeatured ColumnistNovember 23, 2016

Two very interesting MMA cards went down on Friday night.

Bellator 84 marked the end of the promotion's seventh season and the beginning of the heavyweight title reign of rushin' Russian Alexander Volkov.

Meanwhile, The Ultimate Fighter: The Smashes wrapped up, letting fans see the return of Hector Lombard, gifting the world two new TUF winners in Rob Whittaker and Norman Parke and also giving George Sotiropoulos at least two concussions.

Saturday keeps up the brisk pace and gives us an epic card on the TUF 16 finale.

Topping the card is the big heavyweight bout between Matt Mitrione and Roy Nelson. Nelson, as you probably know, coached opposite former interim champion Shane Carwin, who had to withdraw from the fight due to a knee injury. Mitrione, a former teammate of Nelson on TUF 10, stepped in to replace Carwin.

Past the main event, the main card is filled with names like Pat Barry, Melvin Guillard, Jamie Varner and Dustin Poirier. The preliminary card is brimming with prospects (but no TUF 16 fighters...Dana White hates those guys).

Saturday is a huge night of fights. Keep an eye on Bleacher Report's Live Blog of the event right here!

 

Main Card on FX:

Roy Nelson vs. Matt Mitrione

Colton Smith vs. Mike Ricci

Pat Barry vs. Shane del Rosario

Melvin Guillard vs. Jamie Varner

Dustin Poirier vs. Jonathan Brookins

 

Preliminary Card on Fuel TV:

Mike Pyle vs. James Head

Johnny Bedford vs. Marcos Vinicius

Vinc Pichel vs. Rustam Khabilov

TJ Waldburger vs. Nick Catone

 

Preliminary Card on Facebook:

Reuben Duran vs. Hugo Viana

Mike Rio vs. John Cofer

Jared Papazian vs. Tim Elliot

 

TUF 16 Finale Start Times:

Preliminary Bouts on Facebook: 5:35 p.m. ET / 2:35 p.m. PT

Preliminary Bouts on Fuel TV: 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. PT

Main Card on FX: 9:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. PT

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices