Dunga Announces Brazil Squad for Peru, Equador Qualifiers

Samuel DieudonneCorrespondent IMarch 13, 2009

Brazil National Football team head coach Carlos Dunga has announced his Squad ahead of the South American Qualifiers against Peru and Ecuador.

In the past Brazil have been no strangers to struggling on the World Cup Qualifying stage and this edition of Qualifiers have been no different as they have sometimes frustrated the fans with their lacklustre defensive displays against the weaker sides that have mostly ended in boring 0-0 Stalemates.

But their is hope on the horizon that the Brazil of old is back after they've Thrashed Portugal 6-2 and disposed of the current World Champions Italy 2-0 last month at the Emirates.

Dunga's troops will face a difficult test after enjoying these rather convincing display against strong opposition. There is no better stage to prove they are back than the always difficult South American Qualifiers.

Alexandre Pato who is an real scorching form for Milan has received another call up while Amauri is snubbed yet again. Anderson of Manchester United returns from injury to perhaps slot in beside the impressive Felipe Melo of Fiorentina.

Ronaldinho, Adriano & Kaka who has finally returned from Injury are just some of the other high profile names included in the squad. Miranda of Sao Paolo replaces the injured Juan of Roma at the back Thiago Silva and Lucio also get the nod, as Kleber, Marcelo are called as Left wingbacks.

Brazil, which rank second at the South American Qualifiers standings, will visit Ecuador in Quito on March 29; then three days later, they will host Peru at Beira-Rio stadium in Porto Alegre.

The squad in its entirety:

Keepers: Julio Cesar (Inter, ITA), Doni (Roma, ITA).

Defenders: Maicon (Inter, ITA), Daniel Alves (Barcelona, ESP), Lucio (Bayern Munich, GER), Miranda (Sao Paulo), Thiago Silva (Milan, ITA), Luisao (Benfica, POR), Marcelo (Real Madrid, ESP), Kleber (Internacional).

Midfielders: Gilberto Silva (Panathinaikos, GRE), Josué (Wolfsburg, GER), Anderson (Manchester United, ENG), Felipe Melo (Fiorentina, ITA), Elano (Manchester City, ENG), Julio Baptista (Roma, ITA), Kaka (Milan, ITA), Ronaldinho (Milan, ITA).

Strikers: Robinho (Manchester City, ENG), Alexandre Pato (Milan, ITA), Luis Fabiano (Sevilla, ESP), Adriano (Inter, ITA).