Cincinnati Reds Announce 25-Man NLDS Roster

Tyler ConwayFeatured ColumnistOctober 6, 2012

CINCINNATI, OH - SEPTEMBER 23:  Joey Votto #19 of the Cincinnati Reds fields a ground ball in the first inning against the Los Angeles Dodgers at Great American Ball Park on September 23, 2012 in Cincinnati, Ohio.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

Just in time for Game 1 of their National League Division Series matchup against the San Francisco Giants, the NL Central champion Cincinnati Reds have set their 25-man roster for the series, according to's Mark Sheldon.

While some teams decided to switch up their rosters in the postseason in favor of situational replacements, Reds manager Dusty Baker went mostly with the players who brought him here. 

The most notable players left off the roster were pitchers Mike Leake and Logan Ondrusek, along with catching prospect Devin Mesoraco—none of which were big surprises.

Playing in a five-game series, the Reds are unlikely to need a fifth starter like Leake, and his 8-9 record with a 4.58 ERA certainly was not enough to justify him a long-reliever spot. 

Those who only watched Cincinnati early in the season and tuned the club out late may be surprised by Mesoraco's absence, but the bloom quickly fell off the top prospect's rose in 2012, and he was expendable as a third catcher. 

Cincinnati's announcement comes almost a full 24 hours after the Giants announced their roster on Friday. That hesitance to reveal the roster led some to believe that the squad was looking for some competitive advantage.

Nonetheless, this was a pretty standard roster from Baker. Overall, the Reds have 14 position players and 11 pitchers making the trip to AT&T Park for the first two games of the NLDS, before they head back to Cincinnati for the remaining contests.

With that in mind, here's a look at the Reds' full roster in preparation for the series kickoff on Saturday night:


Pitchers: Johnny Cueto, Bronson Arroyo, Mat Latos, Homer Bailey, Aroldis Chapman, Sean Marshall, Jonathan Broxton, Sam LeCure, Jose Arredondo, J.J. Hoover, Alfredo Simon

Catchers: Ryan Hanigan, Dioner Navarro

Infielders: Joey Votto, Brandon Phillips, Scott Rolen, Zack Cozart, Todd Frazier, Miguel Cairo, Wilson Valdez

Outfielders: Ryan Ludwick, Drew Stubbs, Jay Bruce, Chris Heisey, Xavier Paul