WWE Bill of Rights: Amendment VI: Women's (Divas) Suffrage

AkDSenior Writer IFebruary 13, 2009

We as Americans have a long history of earning our rights. The men of WWE have done the same. The women of the WWE had a more difficult time earning their spot and leaving their mark in the WWE. It took years of dedication and determination to get where they are today.

Since the 1950's Divas of the WWE have pushed and pushed to be recognized today. The road was long and tough.So on the the next amendment.....

Amendment VI - Divas rights (History of the Women's Championship)

WWE divas have been around for decades (see: Fabulous Moolah, Mae Young etc.). WWE had a women's championship. In the late 1950's, the title was known as the NWA Women's championship.

A tournament for the belt was held at a live show in Baltimore, Maryland on Sept. 18, 1956. The Fabulous Moolah would defeat Judy Grable in the final match to be crowned the very first NWA World Women's champion.

The title changed hands constantly at live shows, as champions included Sue Green, Evelyn Stevens, Sensation Sherri and Wedi Richter. WWE never counted any of these title changes before 1984 these as title changes and considered Fabulous Moolah's title reign to be 10,170 days. In 1990, WWE deactivated the Women's title.

Rockin' Robin was the last champion, and vacated it due to her departure from the company.

It seems that WWE had forgotten about the Divas. The Women's title wasn't reactivated until five years later in 1995. Just like WWE did to determine the very first Women's champion, a tournament was held on Monday Night Raw to crown the next one.

Alundra Blayze would win that tournament and be crowned the new Women's champion. The reign would be short lived as Blayze signed with World Championship Wrestling (WCW) in 1995, causing her to relinquish the championship.

This would result in the title once again becoming vacant...then deactivated again. The world would have to wait another three years until a new champion was crowned. In 1998, WWE diva Jacqueline went one on one with WWE diva Sable, for the Women's Championship.

Sable would lose the match and Jacqueline would become the new champion. Sable, Ivory, Tori, Miss Kitty, Lita, and even Stephanie McMahon rounded out the last Women champions of the attitude era.

Chyna would soon exit the company as she had her last reign at Wrestlemania 17. Chyna had left the company and the belt was vacant for the umpteen time. Luckily, the belt wasn't vacated. The title was once again on the verge of being deactivated again and WWE witnessed the rebirth of the Divas.

Trish Stratus was the perfect package, as she had bains, beauty, and great wrestling skills. She was also Canadian to boot. Stratus led the "Diva Revolution" as they emerged and revitalized the Diva division.

Sensation Sherri, Fabulous Moolah, Judy Grable, and the rest of the Diva pioneers sacrifices weren't made in vein as Stratus and the rest walked on the on the road that they paved for them.

Trish Stratus became the Women's champion in 2001 (The Invasion Era). The Diva division had become a supernova as Divas came from left and right. Trish Stratus, Jazz, Gail Kim, Victoria, Lita, and Molly Holly.

Trish had various feuds with almost every Diva from this new generation. She feuded with Mickie James (came later in the diva revolution), Jazz, Victoria, Molly Holly, and Lita. Trish gave it everything she had and ultimately retired in 2006, at Unforgiven.

The title was vacated once again following Trish's retirement. Lita would defeat Mickie James in a Lumber Jack match to become the next champion. Lita would soon too retire and the title has moved on to the hands of Candice Michelle, Mickie James, Beth Phoenix, and currently Melina.

WWE had also launched a Diva search. WWE now had a slew of Divas that had came, gone, and stayed.

The Divas ranged from Amy Webber, Joy Giovanni, Dawn Marrie, Torrie Wilson, Stacy Keibler, Melina, Beth Phoenix, Natalya, Maryse, Gail Kim, Christe Hemme (Diva Search winner), Eve Torres (Diva search winner), Rosa Mendes, Michele McCool (Diva search participant), Maria, the Bella Twins, Candice Michelle (Diva search participant), layla El, Ashely Massaro (Diva search winner), Alicia Fox, and Kristal.

WWE now has enough divas to occupy all three of their shows, RAW, Smackdown, and ECW. The road for these Divas have been long and difficult, but they did it. The Women's Suffrage was passed by Fabulous Moolah, Sensational Sherri, and the pioneers, then revised and passed again by Trish Stratus.


Amendment VI Milestones/Progess

First Champion Fabulous Moolah (1956)

Jacqueline - Champion after second vacation (Attitude Era)

Trish Stratus - Leader of Diva's revolution/Supernova 7-time Women's champion (Most)  (Invasion Era/New Generation)

Diva Search - 2004-Present (New Generation)

Diva Search Winners - Christy Hemme (2004), Ashely Massaro (2005) , Layla El (2006), and Eve Torres (2007)

Every WWE/F and NWA World Women's champion