Predicting The Field of 64 in February

Curt HoggCorrespondent IIJanuary 30, 2009

March Madness is the most exciting event in college sports. College basketball fans can't wait for Selection Sunday.

Now in the meat of conference play, the race for the one of the 64 spots (65 including the play-in game) is heating up. Which teams will make it and which ones will be stuck in the NIT? Well, I'm here to clear that up for you. I have fielded the 64 teams I believe will be in the tournament.

Here are my picks, arranged by seeding.

1: Pittsburgh Panthers(Big East champions), North Carolina Tar Heels (ACC Champions), Oklahoma Sooners (Big 12 Champions), Wake Forest Demon Deacons (at-large) 

2: Michigan State Spartans (Big Ten Champs), Connecticut Huskies (at-large), Duke Blue Devils (at-large), Louisville Cardinals (at-large)

3: Marquette Golden Eagles (at-large), Xavier Musketeers (Atlantic 10 Champions), Arizona State Sun Devils (Pac 10 Champions), Texas Longhorns (at-large)

4: Purdue Boilermakers (at-large), Memphis Tigers (Conference USA Champions), UCLA Bruins (at-large), Illinois Fighting Illini (at-large)

5: Butler Bulldogs (Horizon League Champions), Clemson Tigers (at-large), Syracuse Orange (at-large), Florida Gators (at-large)

6: Gonzaga Bulldogs (West Coast Champions), Minnesota Golden Gophers (at-large), Villanova Wildcats (at-large), Utah State Aggies (WAC Champions)

7: Davidson Wildcats (Southern Conference Champions), Dayton Flyers (at-large), St. Mary's Gaels (at-large), Kentucky Wildcats (at-large)

8: Kansas Jayhawks (at-large), Missouri Tigers (at-large), Louisiana State Tigers (at-large), UNLV Runnin' Rebels (Mountain West Champions)

9: Georgetown Hoyas (at-large), California Golden Bears (at-large), Washington Huskies (at-large), Baylor Bears (at-large)

10: West Virginia Mountaineers (at-large), Notre Dame Fighting Irish (at-large), Ohio State Buckeyes (at-large), South Carolina Gamecocks (at-large)

11: Tennessee Volunteers (SEC Champions), Virginia Military Institute Keydets (Big South Champions), Northern Iowa (Missouri Valley Champions), Virginia Tech Hokies (at-large)

12: Brigham Young Cougars (at-large), Charleston Golden Eagles (at-large), Illinois State Redbirds (at-large), Siena Riders (MAAC Champions), Florida State Seminoles (at-large)

13: Miami(OH) (MAC Champions), Portland State Vikings (Big Sky Champions), George Mason Patriots (CAA Champions), Boston College Eagles (at-large)

14: West Kentucky Hilltoppers (Sun Belt Champions), North Dakota State Bison (Summit League Champions), Vermont Catamounts (America East Champions),

15: Texas A&M Corpus Christi Islanders (Southland Champions), Robert Morris Colonials (Northeast Champions), Cornell Big Red (Ivy League Champions), East Tennessee State Buccaneers (Atlantic Sun Conference)

16: Cal State Northridge Torreros (Big West Champions), Lehigh Mountainhawks (Patriot League Champions), Bethune-Cookman Wildcats (MEAC Champions), Morehead State Eagles (Ohio Valley Champions)