Best Kansas City Chiefs Players Tournament, Final Four: Dawson vs. Cherry

Farzin Vousoughian@farzin21Contributor IIIApril 9, 2012

CANTON, OH - AUGUST 3:  Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Hank Stram (L) poses with his bust and his presenter and fellow Hall of Famer Len Dawson during the 2003 NFL Hall of Fame Induction ceremony on August 3, 2003 in Canton, Ohio.  (Photo by David Maxwell/Getty Images)
David Maxwell/Getty Images

Here it is! The Final Four!

You voters have made the decision to bring No. 1 QB Len Dawson, No. 2 S Deron Cherry, No. 1 LB Derrick Thomas and No. 1 TE Tony Gonzalez to the Final Four as you determine who will be the best player in Chiefs history.

On Friday, the championship match will take place. On Wednesday, you will get to vote between Thomas and Gonzalez. Today is the day to decide who goes to the final round between Dawson and Cherry.

As always, voting ends at 11:59 p.m. EST tonight.

No. 1 QB Len Dawson vs No. 2 S Deron Cherry

Len Dawson: Len Dawson played for the Dallas Texans and the Kansas City Chiefs for 14 seasons. During his time as the Chiefs' quarterback, Dawson got the opportunity to be part of something special and do something the franchise has not done in 42 years.

Dawson led the Chiefs to their first and only Super Bowl victory in 1970 against the Minnesota Vikings. Dawson and the Chiefs stunned the Vikings, giving Kansas City the last Super Bowl trophy before the NFL-AFL merger. With only one Super Bowl victory in the history of the franchise, Dawson is the only Super Bowl MVP in Chiefs history.

Other championship success compiled by the Chiefs with Dawson under center consists of three AFL titles.

Individually, Dawson found a lot of success, as he was selected to six All-Star games and one Pro Bowl. He is one of five Chiefs to ever win the NFL Man of the Year Award. He also holds the NFL and AFL record for leading the league in completion percentage for more seasons than any other quarterback.

With all of his accomplishments, his jersey, No. 16, is retired. Dawson is in the Pro Football Hall of Fame and currently serves as the color commentator alongside Mitch Holthus for Chiefs games on 101 the Fox.

Dawson passed No. 2 LB Bobby Bell in the Elite Eight.

Deron Cherry: He is considered one of the more dangerous safeties to play the game during the '80s.

Having spent all 11 seasons in Kansas City, Cherry pulled down 50 interceptions in 141 games. He returned those picks for 688 yards off and took one back for a touchdown.

His best season came in 1986 when Cherry picked off nine passes, good for second in the league that year, one short of Ronnie Lott of the San Francisco 49ers.

Cherry was voted to six Pro Bowls and has earned five All-Pro recognitions. He was also named part of the NFL 1980s All-Decade Team for his performance in Kansas City.

Cherry passed No. 1 RB Christian Okoye in the Elite Eight.