Wrestling Gold: The History of the ROH World Tag Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 38
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the ROH World Tag Team Championship
photo from prowrestling.wikia.com

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the history of the ROH World Tag Team Championship!

First named the ROH Tag Team Championship, the titles were established in September 2002, six months after the company was formed. A tournament was set up to crown the new champions, but Ring of Honor didn’t have physical championship belts yet. The first champions, Christopher Daniels and Donovan Morgan, were presented a trophy instead.

Actual belts were quickly made, though, and have gone through four different designs since then.

In July 2006, the titles became the ROH World Tag Team Championship when the belts were defended in Japan.

Since its creation 11 years ago, ROH’s tag titles have seen 36 teams hold the belts. Let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.