Who Should Be Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2014?

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Who Should Be Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2014?
Andy Marlin/Getty Images

What does it take to get into the Hall of Fame?

That question is asked every year by a group of some of the best football minds on the planet. While the Pro Football Hall of Fame doesn't televise the voting process, all accounts point to it being a sober and arduous process.

The voters hem and haw about Pro Bowl appearances, records and how a player was perceived amongst his peers. Some voters come with an open mind, and others come with agendas. Regardless, they all come with the purpose of immortalizing a select few former players as the best of the very best. 

This weekend, the 2013 Hall of Fame class will be inducted in Canton. Dallas Cowboys offensive lineman Larry Allen, Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Cris Carter, Kansas City Chiefs lineman Curley Culp, Baltimore Ravens offensive lineman Jonathan Ogden, Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive lineman Warren Sapp, Green Bay Packers linebacker Dave Robinson and longtime head coach Bill Parcells will all be forever enshrined in football lore. 

A star-studded bunch indeed, but (as with every year) it leaves a lot of great players on the outside looking in. Plus, every year, more and more join the ranks of eligible candidates to be added to the ballot. So, we at Bleacher Report decided to preview what the 2014 class will look like. 

To that end, we enlisted the help of some of the football media's most informed. Each was instructed to vote for four-to-seven of the best football players of all time that should hypothetically be inducted into Canton next year. 


The Voting Panel

Michael Schottey—NFL National Lead Writer (Bleacher Report)

Ty Schalter—NFL National Lead Writer (Bleacher Report)

Erik Frenz—AFC East Lead Writer (Bleacher Report)

Brad Gagnon—NFC East Lead Writer (Bleacher Report)

Chris Hansen—AFC West Lead Writer (Bleacher Report)

Sam Monson—Analyst (Pro Football Focus)

Chris Burke—Writer (Sports Illustrated)

Tom Mantzouranis—Senior NFL Producer (Monday Morning Quarterback)

Eric Edholm—Fantasy Writer (Monday Morning Quarterback)

Mike Tanier—Writer (Sports on Earth)

Aaron Schatz—Editor-in-Chief (Football Outsiders)

Lance Zierlein—Football Analyst/Owner (Sideline View)

Mike Silver—Writer (Yahoo! Sports)


*All quotes were gathered firsthand unless otherwise noted.

**All stats and biographical information were obtained from Pro Football Reference

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.