World FootballDownload App

B/R World Football Community Awards: March 2009 (Voting)

Barney CorkhillSenior Writer IAugust 9, 2016

Ladies and Gentlemen...the B/R World Football awards are back!

After a brief hiatus, the awards make a (hopefully) successful return.

Everyone loves getting positive feedback and accolades from their peers, and this is the perfect way to do it!

There are six categories to vote in: Best Writer of the Month, Most Creative Writer, Most Consistent Writer, Most Informative, Best New Writer of the Month, and Funniest Commenter.

The nominees are mainly picked from the top 25 writers in the World Football ranking section, but each writer must have written at least four articles in the past month to be nominated! Should someone in the top 25 not have written four articles, the next highest-ranked writer who has will be nominated instead.

All members of B/R have the chance to vote, but none of the nominees are allowed to vote for themselves. The deadline for the votes will be next Wednesday, April 8.

These awards are meant to be a good thing, so if you don't win, or aren't nominated, don't take it as an insult—take it as a challenge to be nominated for the next one. Hopefully, the awards will bring out the best in all the writers!

Below is a little explanation of what each category means:


Writer of the Month: Fairly self-explanatory this one. Who do you think has been the best writer over the past month?

Most Creative: Which writer, do you think, has been the most creative over the past month? This is an award for the writers who come up with different ideas for articles, and who make you want to read the articles.

Most Consistent: Which writer has been the most consistent over the past month? This isn't necessarily merely the number of articles they have pumped out, but the quality of them as well. This is an award for the writers who consistently submit good quality pieces.

Most Informative: Who has been the most informative writer over the past month? Who has given you more information about things you didn't know about before, has enhanced your knowledge of football, or has kept you updated on goings on elsewhere?

Best New Writer of the Month: For this award, writers who have been here for three months or less will be eligible. There will be 15 nominees for this. This is an award to recognise the best up and coming writers in the community. Writers eligible for this award need not have written four articles in the past month.

Funniest Commenter: This is an award for the people who have tickled your funny bone in the comments section. Who is the funniest?


To vote, write in the comments section like this:

Writer of the Month: Steven Gerrard

Most Creative: Xabi Alonso

Most Consistent: Brad Friedel

Most Informative: John Motson

Best New Writer of the Month: Theo Walcott

Funniest Commenter: Jimmy Bullard


Now, without further ado, on the next page are the nominations for the March 2009 World Football Awards! Get voting!



Writers with a star (*) next to their name are also eligible for the new writer of the month award!

Salaar Arshad Shamsi

Andrew McNair

Barney Corkhill

Yoosof Farah

Maire Ofeire

David Wilson

Willie Gannon


Salomon Gonzales

Zahi Sahli

Illya McLellan

Jamie Ward

Alan McGuiness

Callum D'Souza

Joe Guarr

Jose Burgos

Danny Penza

Marzia Hazra

Carolina Tiger

Nathan Lowe

Samrin Hasib

Ryan Lynch

Matt S

Saif Syed Omar (*)

Christopher Potter


New writer of the month nominees:

Saif Syed Omar

Goutham Babu

Mick Menace

Daniel Gooch

Danny Stewart

Suvin K Varkey

Suraj Bhagavan

Paula Raikkonen

Ramkumar S

Aaron West


Shaunte Renee

Jose V Rodrigues

Felix Poh

Hidihi Hodiho


The lines will close at midnight on the April 8. Any votes received after that won't be counted but may still be charged!

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices