Ranking the 25 Most Shocking Upsets in NFL Playoff History

« Prev
1 of 26
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking the 25 Most Shocking Upsets in NFL Playoff History
Jeff Gross/Getty Images

When the baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremonies commence on July 20, only two players will be enshrined in the hallowed halls—Ron Santo and former Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin.

Santo was selected by the Golden Era committee late last year, and Larkin was selected for induction by 86.1 percent of BBWAA voters on Monday afternoon.

Larkin, a 12-time All-Star, three-time Gold Glove Award winner and 1995 NL MVP, was selected in his third year of eligibility, and becomes the 48th member of the Hall of Fame who played his entire career with one team. Larkin was also the first shortstop in MLB history to join the exclusive 30-30 club, with 33 home runs and 36 stolen bases in 1996.

A number of returning HOF candidates were able to increase their overall percentage of votes this year but still fell short of induction. Jack Morris picked up 13.2 percent more votes this year but still fell short of the 75 percent of votes required, collecting only 66.7 percent overall.

Long-time Houston Astros first baseman Jeff Bagwell also increased his vote total significantly, up from 41.7 percent in 2011 to 56.0 percent this year.

Both Morris and Bagwell moved up significantly, however, with next year’s ballot containing several first-year candidates who will stir up much conversation and controversy. Can Bagwell and Morris garner enough votes for consideration?

Bleacher Report will take a look at the candidates who will be on next year’s ballot for the Hall of Fame and attempt to rate their overall chances at success.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.