B/R World Football Writer of the Year 2009 (Voting)

Barney CorkhillSenior Writer IDecember 29, 2009

It's that time of year again!

As 2009 winds down, the writers here at Bleacher Report can reflect on what has been yet another historic year, and decade for that matter, for sport.

In the football world in particular, we have had the return of the Galacticos, Barcelona's treble and Thierry Henry's "hand of frog" to name just three.

All members of the world football community on Bleacher Report have made their own contributions in some form or another to make this year even more special, and this Writer of the Year award is a way of honouring who you think has been the best.

Like last year's awards, the top five members of the community at the time according to the rankings (Willie Gannon, Andrew Jordan, Yoosof Farah, Carolina Tiger, and Callum D'Souza) have each given a list of writers who they believe deserve to be in the final shortlist.

In addition to those five, world football community leader Salaar Shamsi and myself have added in our lists, and the 10 who received the most votes will make up the final shortlist.

Each writer listed above was given a shortlist of 25 writers (the top 25 in the rankings at the time), plus a few who had left earlier in the year to choose from.

They were also given five free choices to include anyone not on that shortlist who they think deserved to be recognised.

The strength and depth of the community was showcased as the seven "judges" voted for a total of 30 different people.

Unfortunately, only the 10 with the most votes could be chosen for the final shortlist.

The votes will be write-in votes rather than those on a poll to ensure credibility and fairness in the process. Needless to say, you cannot vote for yourself, as if anyone was thinking of doing so!

Here are the top 10, in no particular order:


Carolina Tiger

Yoosof Farah

Barney Corkhill

Andrew Jordan

Willie Gannon

Maire Ofeire

Illya McLellan

Salaar Shamsi

Alex Dimond

Owen Watson


Congratulations to all those nominated and commiserations to those who missed out. It was very hard to whittle the list down to 10, so don't feel disheartened!

As I said above, you can vote by leaving a comment saying who you think deserves the Writer of the Year award. Take into consideration longevity, consistency, and, of course, quality when making your decision.

The voting closes at midnight on New Year's Eve, and the winner will be announced on New Year's Day! Good luck to everyone!

Let the voting begin!