Fantasy Forecast: Fantasy Basketball Awards

Ari WagnerContributor IOctober 24, 2009

BEIJING - AUGUST 24:  Dwight Howard #11 and Chris Paul #13 of the United States react to a call in the gold medal game against Spain during Day 16 of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games at the Beijing Olympic Basketball Gymnasium on August 24, 2008 in Beijing, China.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Fantasy Forecast: Fantasy Basketball Awards

By Ari Wagner


This is for the main eight NBA fantasy categories; Free-throw and Field-goal percentages, three-pointers made, steals, blocks, assists, rebounds and points.


These awards and the players that win them are only for the specific category, not for all of the categories combined.


First we will start of with the Artis Gilmore award, for the best Field-Goal percent at the end of the year. Last year Shaq O’Neal won this award and Nene was right behind him.


This year’s winner will be no different, O’Neal will have room to get to the basket this year in the East and with the always threatening LeBron James on his side, O’Neal will be able to get to the bucket and score with ease.


Also watch out for; Nene, Andris Biedrins and Dwight Howard.


The Mark Price award for the best free-throw percent at the end of the season went to Jose Calderon last year with a crazy 98% from the stripe.


This year I see Calderon being able to settle down a little more with the addition of Hedu Turkaglu, making it even easier for him throughout the games and letting him focus even more at the line.


Also watch; Steve Nash, Ray Allen and Chauncy Billups.


The Reggie Miller award went to Rashard Lewis last year, but with the addition to Vince Carter and the 10 game suspension to start the year, I see another long ball assassin getting the award.


Ray Allen is the other obvious choice, but with the addition of Rasheed Wallace who like to fire away, Allen’s threes per game may drop. However, I don’t see them dropping too much, and I see Allen taking the award that will one day be named after him.


Also watch; Rashard Lewis, J.R. Smith, Danny Granger


The Alvin Robertson award for most steals is one that fantasy owners should pay heavy attention to. The steal category is one that will elevate your team ahead of most other teams in your league. It is one of those little categories that go a long way during the season.


Last year Chris Paul ran away with this award by more than 40 steals, and the pesky Paul will do it again this year. He is an elite player in every aspect and this is just another example of his fantasy value.


Also watch; Dwane Wade, Rajon Rondo, Jason Kidd.


The Hakeem “The Dream” Olajuwon award for most blocked shots at the end of the regular season went to Dwight Howard with no one even close to him. Howard will win this again this year and for about the next 10 years straight.

Howard is one of those multi category stars that fantasy owners drool over, and for good reason.


Also watch; Chris “The BirdMan” Anderson, Ronni Turiaf and Marcus Camby.


The John Stockton award for most assists in a game is one that normally goes to a point guard, and is the essence of team work.


Last year Chris Paul ran away with this stat-cat by over 130 assists and you would have to be crazy to think he would not do it again with those skewed numbers. However, I do think that Steve Nash will put up a serious fight now that they are back to the up tempo offense that he is used to.


Also watch; Deron Williams, Jason Kidd and Jose Calderon/Rajon Rondo.


The Wilt Chamberlain award for most rebound in a regular season went to Dwight Howard and he surely will take it again this year.


Howard along with Chris Paul are the type of players that excel in multiple categories and will be the face of the league along with LeBron James for this generation.


Also watch; David Lee, Emeka Okafor and Chris Bosh.


Finally the Michael Jordan award for most points the season last year went to Dwane Wade, but not by much. This year will be interesting with Wade, LeBron James and Kevin Durant all going for the award.


Kevin Durant will come through as the scoring champion and be Oklahoma City’s first All Star and scoring champion.


Also watch; Dwane Wade, LeBron James and Kobe Bryant.