Did Jimmy Smith Hold Michael Crabtree on 4th-and-Ballgame?

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Did Jimmy Smith Hold Michael Crabtree on 4th-and-Ballgame?

Michael Crabtree was held by Jimmy Smith in the end zone late in the fourth quarter on 4th-and goal.

Or was he?

With just one minute, 50 seconds remaining on the clock, the San Francisco 49ers had a chance to go ahead with a touchdown. Colin Kaepernick floated a pass intended for Crabtree on a fade to the deep right corner of the end zone.

Crabtree never had a chance to catch the ball, though, as he and Smith got tangled up near the goal line. 

The officials didn't call pass interference or defensive holding even though Smith appeared to have both of his hands locked onto Crabtree's arms.

Was the no-call the right decision, or did the refs blow it?

Twitter Reacts

Turron Davenport thinks that it was a hold:

ABC-7's Lionel Bienvenu agrees:

ESPN's Matthew Berry thinks that it was pass interference, but he also touches on another issue that's no less important—the play call:

The Tampa Bay Times' Stephen Holder thinks that it was a hold, but understands why the official wouldn't want to make the call:

CSN Philadelphia's Reuben Frank agrees that it was a penalty, but thinks that the rules shouldn't apply that late in the game in such a big moment:

Per CSN Bay Area's Matt Maiocco, Jim Harbaugh adamantly believes that the refs blew the call:

NFL Network's Jeff Darlington comes at this with a more philosophical take to finish us off:

So, what do you think? 

Did the officials make the right call on Jimmy Smith?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Was there a penalty, and if so, should the refs have made the call?

Let us know in the comments section below. 

Follow me on Twitter @JesseReed78 

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.