2007: The Year Tim Tebow Won All 3 Top College Awards in America

Peter CollinsContributor IFebruary 21, 2012

2007: The Year Tim Tebow Won All 3 Top College Awards in America

0 of 3

    THE year 2007 was the year Tim Tebow, currently the Denver Broncos No. 1 quarterback, won all three of the most prestigious collegiate football awards in America: the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award and the Davey O'Brien Award.

    In 2007, Tim Tebow was QB No. 1 for the Florida Gators football team at the University of Florida. Tebow received an athletic scholarship and attended the university from 2006 to 2009, where he set many personal, school and national records as well as winning a host of different awards.

    Tebow is famous for his powerful running game (which is extremely uncharacteristic of a quarterback), Tebowing and his strong connections with religion.

The Heisman Trophy

1 of 3

    TIM Tebow was awarded the Heisman trophy on the eighth of December 2007, finishing 254 points ahead of runner-up Darren McFadden, the Arkansas running back. Tebow was the first sophomore to ever win the Heisman Trophy. He received 462 first-place votes and finished with 1,957 points.

    The Heisman trophy is awarded annually to the athlete deemed to be the most outstanding player in collegiate football. It was first awarded in 1935 as the Downtown Athletic Club Trophy, but was quickly renamed a year later after the death of the club's athletic director, John Heisman.

    The award is now presented by the Heisman Trophy Trust.

    Tebow finished the 2007 season as the first player in football subdivision history to rush for 23 touchdowns and pass for 32 touchdowns. After receiving the award he became the third player from the University of Florida to win the Heisman trophy, following in the footsteps of Steve Spurrier and Danny Wuerffel, who were both quarterbacks.

    Tebow also was a finalist for the award in both the 2008 and 2009 seasons but did not win it.

The Maxwell Award

2 of 3

    ANOTHER award Tim Tebow received in 2007 was the Maxwell award. This award is given to the best college football player in the United States of America and is judged by sportscasters, sportswriters, National Collegiate Athletic head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club.

    The award was first awarded in 1937 and was named after the late Robert W.Maxwell, who was a college football player, coach and writer.

    Tebow won the award again in 2008, which made him the second player ever to win the Maxwell Award. The other player who won it was the Johnny Lattner in 1952 and 1953, who was the halfback for Notre Dame.

    Winning this award puts him in the same books as some of the greatest football players such as O.J Simpson, Peyton Manning, Drew Brees, Jason White and Eli Manning, who have all also won the Maxwell Award.

The Davey O'Brien Award

3 of 3

    THE Davey O'Brien Award was the final college award Tebow won in 2007. He received the award on February 18th 2008, in Forth Worth Texas, for the 2007 season. This award is presented to the best quarterback in the National Collegiate Athletic Association or, in easier terms, the best quarterback in the United States of America.

    The trophy was first awarded in 1977 as a memorial for the death of Davey O'Brien and was named the Davey O'Brien Memorial Trophy. But then in 1981 it was renamed to its current name and is awarded annually to nation's top quarterback.