NHL History: Best Captain Ever of Each NHL Team, Part III

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL History: Best Captain Ever of Each NHL Team, Part III
Vincent Laforet/Getty Images
Mr. Hockey did not even make the list of all-time captains

In the first installment of this series, the criteria for determining each team's all-time captain were laid out. There could not have been another captain of their team during the franchise's most successful seasons, and their individual greatness was also considered.

This created much difficulty in selecting captains. Some teams had little playoff success, had multiple captains who had approximately equal success or even were without a captain for their best seasons.

Yet based on the responses, the only controversy over the first 10 franchises' selections for the greatest captain of all time appeared to be Nicklas Lidstrom over Steve Yzerman. (You can see the reasons for that decision by clicking the above link.)

The second article in the series was met with only resistance on the assertion that Gordie Howe was a better player all-time than Wayne Gretzky. It is always difficult to compare players from different eras, especially when some were not seen, but they do make for wonderful Internet discussion fodder.

The question is, if you were a general manager and you could take a player who would be great for two decades or dominant for one, who would you take?

It is likely that most GMs would want to know they did not have to draft another great player for the second decade.

Will this one have more debate? Perhaps you will have to weigh in when you see who is picked as the all-time captains for the remaining 10 franchises...

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.