PBR's Iron Cowboy Reigns Supreme at Madison Square Garden

Ronald MonestimeCorrespondent IJanuary 10, 2011

In three out of the last four years, Professional Bull Riders, Inc.’s (PBR) Madison Square Garden Invitational has featured a member of the Mauney-Proctor family in the winner’s circle.

J.B. Mauney (Mooresville, NC) took home the crown in 2007 and 2009 while Shane Proctor (Mooresville, NC), who is married to Mauney’s sister, staved off challenges from Travis Briscoe (Edgewood, NM) and his immensely popular brother-in-law to win the event last year.

Sandwiched between this successful four-year run for Mauney and Proctor was a triumph by PBR’s "Iron Cowboy", Valdiron de Oliveira (Aparecida de Goiania, GO), in the Big Apple three years ago.

And in a classic case of history repeating itself, the Brazilian riding sensation out shined the “North Carolina Connection”, as well as 37 other top bull riders, to win his second MSG Invitational.

With an awe-inspiring cover of Deja Blu (Jeff Robinson/Cappello) in the fourth round and a jaw-dropping 91.50-point ride atop Mellow Yellow Jacket (Duncan and Evans Bucking Bulls) in the BFTS Championship Round, de Oliveira completed a weekend in which he went a perfect five for five from the chutes; a performance that certainly wasn't lost on his competitors, including last year's champion.

“He was definitely the best bull rider here this weekend,” Shane Proctor said when asked for his assessment of de Oliveira’s impressive feat. “He rode each bull with as much force as he could. He pretty much just kicked everybody’s butt this weekend.”

Equally up to the task was Australian native Ben Jones (Boyd, TX), who punctuated all five of his eight-second rides with a signature crowd-pleasing dance.

“Ben cracks me up, his dance never gets old,” Proctor laughed. “And you like to see Ben do good just because he really is a neat person to be around.”

Jones, a 13-year riding veteran, pushed de Oliveira to the absolute limit in the Championship Round with an absolutely death-defying 91.00-point ride atop 2007 Bull of the Year, Voodoo Child (Robinson/Beutler/McNeely), to take the event lead.

However, de Oliveira stole Jones’ thunder in the last ride of the Invitational by earning a score of 91.50, his second best ride of the weekend amazingly enough, for his cover of Mellow Yellow Jacket.

As a result, de Oliveira won four out of the five rounds in the Invitational and pocketed a cool $41,860.00 for his efforts.

Paulo Lima (Bezerros PE, BZ), Dustin Elliott (North Platte, NE) and Jordan Hupp (Cheyenne, WY) joined de Oliveira and Jones in becoming the top five bull riders heading into the next BFTS event in Sacramento next weekend.

 MSG Invitational Results

1. Valdiron de Oliveira – 445.00

2. Ben Jones – 436.75

3. Paulo Lima – 345.50

4. Dustin Elliott – 342.75

5. Jordan Hupp – 340.25

6. J.B. Mauney – 265.75

7. Cody Campbell (Summerville, OR) – 261.00

8. LJ Jenkins (Porum, OK) – 259.00

9. Douglas Duncan (Alvin, TX) – 180.50

10. Travis Briscoe – 174.00

Click here to read the original article on Examiner.com, which includes relevant links, video footage of Valdiron de Oliveira's championship ride atop Mellow Yellow Jacket and post-event interviews with de Oliveira and 2010 MSG Invitational Champion, Shane Proctor.

About the Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR)

PBR is the world’s premier bull riding organization. More than 100 million viewers annually watch over 400 hours of primetime PBR programming on CBS, NBC, VERSUS and various networks around the world.

PBR has awarded over $100 million in prize money and 20 riders have earned over $one million including Justin McBride with $5.5 million, the most of any western-sports athlete in history.

PBR was nominated as the 2010 Sports League of the Year at the Sports BusinessJournal Sports Business Awards alongside Major League Baseball, the National Basketball Association and the National Football League.

Nearly two million fans attend elite Built Ford Tough Series and Touring Pro Division events each year.

For more information on PBR, go to www.pbr.com, or follow them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TeamPBR and on Twitter at http://twitter.com/TEAMPBR.