Who Are The Indianapolis Colts?

Trever RobyContributor ISeptember 6, 2008

Have you ever asked yourself: Who are the Indianapolis Colts? Yes, of course, they are one of the best NFL teams around. The first thing many people think about when hearing 'the colts' would have to include Peyton Manning or Tony Dungy.. but, there is so much more to this historic team than that. So, who are the Indianapolis Colts?

Lets start with the obvious. The Indianapolis colts are a professional American football team in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Colts are a part of the AFC (American Football League) south division. Among the five NFL championships won by the Colts, they are only accountable for two super bowl victories. Most recently, Superbowl XLI in 2006 against the Chicago Bears.

In 1984, the Colt's owner Robert Irsay moved them from Baltimore to Indianapoils. The new Indianapolis Colts didn't start out very victorious. They had only won 90 out of 228 games and only 5 playoff games through the 1997 season. After the death of owner Robert Irsay, his son, Jim Irsay assumed control of the team in 1998. Since then, the team has become the first in the league history to win 12 or more games in five consecutive seasons.

Lets backtrack a few years to 1958. While being the first team with cheerleaders, the team was being led by coach Weeb Ewbank and quarter back Johnny Unitas. In this year history was made. The colts had defeated the New York Giants in Yankee stadium 23-17 in the NFL championship game. This game was the first one to go into overtime, and is considered by many to be among one of the best games in professional football. They repeated another championship win in 1959, but, loosing in the 1964 NFL championship game to the Browns 27-0. Again in 1968, after a 13-1 season, the Colts take another Championship victory 34-0 against the Browns. In Superbowl III (this was the first year they officially called it the Superbowl) the colts last to the Jets. The Jets were being led by Weeb Ewbank, who led the Baltimore Colts in their first two championship victories.

After firing coach Lindy Infante, Bill polian hired coach Jim Mora. In this same year, they drafted University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning. This will be the beginning of some of the most memorable games ever played. Then, the firing of Jim Mora became to the era of Tony Dungy.

In 2005, The Colts became the 4th team in league history to win their first 13 games, but the season ended with an opening playoff game loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers. While the Indianapolis Colts were among the few without a Superbowl win, many people lost faith. Proving everyone wrong, the colts came back the following year to win Superbowl XLI.

Next time someone asked you: Who are the Indianapolis Colts? What will you tell them?