Six Seahawks Make NFC Pro Bowl Roster

Brian GrayContributor IDecember 20, 2007

IconWhen the Pro Bowl rosters were released Tuesday, six Seattle Seahawks were named to the Squad—and no, there was no Shaun on the list.

Matt Hasselback (QB), Walter Jones (Tackle), Patrick Kerney (DE), Julian Peterson (OLB), Lufa Totufu (MLB), and Marcus Trufant (CB) all were named starters—except for Hasselback who was 2nd in voting behind the ageless Brett Favre of the Green Bay Packers.

Seattle also has the most defensive starters in the Pro Bowl with four. Maybe now this will stop some of the critics from calling Seattle's defense "overrated." The Sea-Fence is here and they could take the team to the Super, seriously.

The NFL made a first in naming a deceased person to the roster when they announced that Sean Taylor was named to the NFC team. Taylor certainly would have been deserving of the honor, as he had helped lead a Washington Redskins team before being hit by gunfire and dying the next day. There will be a ceremony during the game to honor the Redskins free safety. His starting spot will be filled by Ken Hamlin of the Dallas Cowboys.

Entire NFC Pro Bowl team listed below (Seattle Players in BOLD):

Pos. Starter(s) Reserves
Quarterback Brett Favre, Green Bay Matt Hasselbeck, Seattle
Tony Romo, Dallas
Running back Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
Marion Barber, Dallas
Brian Westbrook, Philadelphia
Fullback Tony Richardson, Minnesota  
Wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona
Terrell Owens, Dallas
Donald Driver, Green Bay
Torry Holt, St. Louis
Tight end Jason Witten, Dallas
Chris Cooley, Washington
Tackle Flozell Adams, Dallas
Walter Jones, Seattle
Chris Samuels, Washington
Guard Leonard Davis, Dallas
Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota
Shawn Andrews, Philadelphia
Center Andre Gurode, Dallas Matt Birk, Minnesota
Pos. Starter(s) Reserves
Defensive end Aaron Kampman, Green Bay
Patrick Kerney, Seattle
Osi Umenyiora, N.Y. Giants
Defensive tackle Kevin Williams, Minnesota
Pat Williams, Minnesota
Tommie Harris, Chicago
Outside linebacker Julian Peterson, Seattle
DeMarcus Ware, Dallas
Lance Briggs, Chicago
Inside linebacker Lofa Tatupu, Seattle
Patrick Willis, San Francisco
Cornerback Al Harris, Green Bay
Marcus Trufant, Seattle
Terence Newman, Dallas
Free safety Sean Taylor, Washington
Ken Hamlin, Dallas
Strong safety Darren Sharper, Minnesota
Special teams
Pos. Starter(s) Reserves
Punter Andy Lee, San Francisco  
Placekicker Nick Folk, Dallas
Kick returner Devin Hester, Chicago
Special teamer Brendon Ayanbadejo, Chicago