The Vikings are Going To Miami

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
The Vikings are Going To Miami
Elsa/Getty Images

After a nail-biter of an NFC Championship Game, the Minnesota Vikings have punched their tickets to spend the week in Miami.

Well, at least most of them will.

With the 2010 Pro Bowl being held a week before the Super Bowl in Miami, the Vikings will send a good chunk of their team to represent the NFC in the most meaningless of games.

Brett Favre, Adrian Peterson, Sidney Rice, Percy Harvin, Bryant McKinnie, Steve Hutchinson, Antoine Winfield, Jared Allen, Kevin Williams, and Heath Farwell will represent the Vikings, who were 12-4 during the regular season.

The Vikings' 10 Pro Bowlers are the most in the league.

The Vikings originally started with eight, but Percy Harvin was added as the return specialist, and Antoine Winfield was added due to an injury.

With the rule that players playing in the Super Bowl will not be represented in the Pro Bowl, there will be even more roster spots to fill for the NFC. The NFL will need to fill the places of QB Drew Brees, T Jonathan Stinchbomb, G Jahari Evans, C Jonathan Goodwin, LB Jonathan Vilma, and FS Darren Sharper.

Will other superstars not participating in the Pro Bowl, like AFC QBs Tom Brady and Ben Roethlisburger, and with Peyton Manning representing the AFC in the Super Bowl, the NFL had to add three more quarterbacks to the squad: Matt Schuab, Vince Young, and Philip Rivers.

Over one third of AFC teams will have a quarterback on the Pro Bowl roster.

Doesn't seem as special anymore, does it?

Follow Minnesota Vikings from B/R on Facebook

Follow Minnesota Vikings from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Minnesota Vikings

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.