And The 25 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Induction Nominees Are...

Kara MartinSenior Analyst IJuly 3, 2009

CHARLOTTE, NC - OCTOBER 10:  (L-R) Donnie Allison, Bobby Allison, Ned Jarrett, Greg Biffle, Richard Petty, Dale Inman, Rusty Wallace and Ray Evernham attend an event at the NASCAR Hall of Fame on October 10, 2008 in Charlotte, North Carolina. Former and current drivers and crew chiefs were presented with commemorative bricks that will be displayed at the NASCAR Hall of Fame.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR)

NASCAR announced on July 2, 2009 the 25 nominees for the inaugural NASCAR Hall of Fame induction.

From the list (provided below), five inductees will be chosen and announced in October and honored in May 2010, when the Hall of Fame facility in Charlotte, N.C. opens to the public.

The Hall of Fame's first five inductees will be determined by a Voting Panel, which is made up of 50 members—the entire Nominating Committee, 14 media members, four manufacturer representatives, nine retired competitors (drivers, owners, and crew chiefs), and two recognized industry leaders.

In additon, will provide fans the opportunity to vote. The fan vote will make up the Voting Panel's 51st and final ballot.

1. Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races.

2. Buck Baker, the first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

3. Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949.

4. Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series.

5. Dale Earnhardt, won a record seven NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

6. Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion.

7. Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

8. Bill France Jr., NASCAR president, chairman, and CEO (1972-2003).

9. Bill France Sr., NASCAR founder and first president (1948-1972).

10. Rick Hendrick, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR's three national series.

11. Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

12. Junior Johnson, 50 wins as a driver, 132 wins and six championships as an owner.

13. Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner.

14. Raymond Parks, NASCAR's first champion car owner.

15. Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

16. David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

17. Lee Petty, winner of the first Daytona 500, and first three-time series champion.

18. Richard Petty, 200 wins and seven NASCAR Sprint Cup titles–both records.

19. Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including 1962 Daytona 500.

20. Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and 1953.

21. Curtis Turner, first to win Daytona 500, Southern 500, Coca-Cola 600 in same year.

22. Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

23. Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

24. Glen Wood, laid foundation for Wood Brothers' future team success.

25. Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78.

The Induction Process:

"The yearly HOF classes will have five inductees selected by a voting panel consisting of NASCAR industry leaders, manufacturer representatives, former competitors, the media, and fans.

Inductees will be chosen from an annual list of no more than 25 candidates. The main criteria for nomination and induction: NASCAR accomplishments and contributions to the sport.

To be eligible, former drivers must have competed 10 years in NASCAR, and be retired from racing for a minimum of three years. Non-drivers must have worked at least 10 years in the industry. (Potential candidates with shorter careers may be considered if there are special circumstances.)

After a 20-member nominating committee selects its list of candidates, the voting will entail a total of 48 ballots.

Twenty ballots will be from the nominating committee; 27 ballots will come from a group consisting of former drivers, former owners, former crew chiefs, manufacturer representatives, and media; one ballot will represent the results of a nationwide fan vote."


Nominating Committee–20 members

* Seven NASCAR representatives.

* NASCAR Hall of Fame Executive Director.

* NASCAR Hall of Fame Historian.

* Two track owners from International Speedway Corporation.

* Two track owners from Speedway Motorsports Incorporated.

* Track owner from Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

* Track owner from Dover International Speedway.

* Track owner from Pocono Raceway.

* Four track owners from historic short tracks: Bowman-Gray Speedway in Winston-Salem, N.C.; Greenville-Pickens Speedway in Greenville, S.C.; Riverhead Raceway in Riverhead, N.Y; and Toyota Speedway at Irwindale in Irwindale, Calif.


Voting Committee – 47 members plus one fan vote

* 20 members of the nominating committee.

* 14 media representatives: Three each from the National Motorsports Press Association, the Associated Press Sports Editors and the Eastern Motorsports Press Association; one each from FOX, Turner, ESPN, Motor Racing Network and Performance Racing Network.

* One representative each from Chevrolet, Dodge, Ford and Toyota.

* Three retired drivers.

* Three retired owners.

* Three retired crew chiefs.

* Fan vote.(Register to vote at

Be on the lookout for David Yeazell's variation of a "Creature vs. Creature" style community debate on Bleacher Creature's HOF picks.

So prepare yourselves now to pick your ultimate top five Hall of Famers and have your supportive arguments ready for an up close and personal town hall discussion!

Source: NASCARmedia press release for immediate publication and


    Preview, Prediction for the TMNT 400

    Hall of Fame Racing logo
    Hall of Fame Racing

    Preview, Prediction for the TMNT 400

    Brendan O'Meara
    via Bleacher Report

    What Drivers Had to Say About Martinsville

    Hall of Fame Racing logo
    Hall of Fame Racing

    What Drivers Had to Say About Martinsville

    Jerry Bonkowski
    via NASCAR Talk

    Keselowski Rolls by Busch Late to Win in Kobalt 400

    Hall of Fame Racing logo
    Hall of Fame Racing

    Keselowski Rolls by Busch Late to Win in Kobalt 400

    Daniel Kramer
    via Bleacher Report

    NASCAR Reveals Start Times for 2016 Season

    Hall of Fame Racing logo
    Hall of Fame Racing

    NASCAR Reveals Start Times for 2016 Season

    via Nascar