Rajasthan vs. Mumbai, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistMay 17, 2014

Rajasthan Royals' bowler Johan Botha, second left, celebrates with teammates the dismissal of Deccan Chargers' Shikhar Dhawan during their Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match in Hyderabad, India, Friday, May 18, 2012. (AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A.)
Mahesh Kumar A/Associated Press

One of the Indian Premier League’s (IPL) top teams faces one of its bottom ones as the Rajasthan Royals welcome the Mumbai Indians to Ahmedabad.

On previous form, and with the Royals firmly in the hunt for a playoff place, it may be a tough game for Mumbai.

Venue: Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad

Date: Monday, May 19

Start time: 11:30 a.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: According to Weather.com, it promises to be a very hot and sunny day in Ahmedabad, with temperatures peaking at a sweltering 43 degrees Celsius.



Rajasthan’s push for the playoffs seems to be gathering pace just at the right time, and in their last match, they looked in very good shape as they defeated the Delhi Daredevils by 62 runs.

The Royals batted first and made 201-6 from their 20 overs, with opener Ajinkya Rahane scoring 64 and Sanju Samson hitting 40 from just 25 balls.

In reply, Delhi were limited to just 139-9 from their 20 overs, with Rajat Bhatia leading the way for the bowlers with 2-18 from three overs.

Meanwhile, Mumbai’s miserable 2014 season continued in Cuttack as they lost to the Kolkata Knight Riders by six wickets.

The Indians batted first but could muster just 141-5 from their 20 overs, with captain Rohit Sharma leading the way with 51 from 45 balls.

In reply, it was all too easy for Kolkata as they sailed to victory for the loss of just four wickets, with Harbhajan Singh’s 2-22 in four overs in vain for Mumbai.

With both teams having very different seasons in the IPL, this game should be easy for Rajasthan, but it will undoubtedly prove to be anything but.


Team News

Rajasthan Royals (from): Shane Watson (capt.), Ajinkya Rahane, Brad Hodge, Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny, Ankush Bains, James Faulkner, Pravin Tambe, Kevon Cooper, Unmukt Chand, Steven Smith, Ben Cutting, Deepak Hooda, Iqbal Abdullah, Karun Nair, Vikramjeet Malik, Abhishek Nayar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Kane Richardson, Dishant Yagnik, Tim Southee, Rahul Tewatia, Ankit Sharma and Amit Mishra.

Mumbai Indians (from): Rohit Sharma (capt.), Corey Anderson, Jasprit Bumrah, Marchant de Lange, Ben Dunk, Chidhambaram Gautam, Shreyas Gopal, Harbhajan Singh, Josh Hazlewood, Michael Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Pawan Suyal, Aditya Tare and Apoorv Wankhade.


Key Players

Pravin Tambe

Rajasthan’s leading spinner remains 42-year-old Tambe, who has once again been enormously consistent this year.

Proving that age is irrelevant, Tambe will once again be the Royals’ biggest threat with the ball.


Rohit Sharma

Mumbai captain Sharma is the lynchpin of their batting and will want to contribute in a big way for his side once again.

It has not been an easy 2014 season for the Indians, but Sharma’s batting remains a bright spot.