Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan: Asia Cup 2014 Final Highlights, Scorecard and Report

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan: Asia Cup 2014 Final Highlights, Scorecard and Report
AP Images

Sri Lanka claimed a brutally efficient five-wicket victory over Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2014 final in Dhaka on Saturday, winning the tournament for the first time since 2008.

Going into the final with a perfect record throughout the competition, a five-wicket haul from Lasith Malinga and a century from Lahiru Thirimanne guided Sri Lanka to glory.

Setting a target of 261 for victory, the Sri Lankan side displayed the depth they have in their batting, with Kusal Perera and Mahela Jayawardene also contributing significant scores. 

Despite losing their form batsman Kumar Sangakkara for a first-ball duck, Sri Lanka gathered runs steadily winning the game with 22 balls to spare.

Sri Lanka vs. Pakistan, Asia Cup 2014 Final Scorecard
Pakistan Innings
Batsman Dismissal Bowler Runs Balls
Sharjeel Khan c T Perera b Malinga 8 6
Ahmed Shehzad c Sangakkara b Malinga 5 7
Mohammad Hafeez c Sangakkara b Malinga 3 13
Misbah-ul-Haq c K Perera b Malinga 65 98
Fawad Alam not out 114 134
Umar Akmal c Priyanjan b Malinga 59 42
Shahid Afridi not out 0 0
Extras 5w 1lb 6
Total for 5 260 (50.0 ovs)
Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Malinga 10 0 56 5
Lakmal 10 2 41 0
Senanayake 9 0 54 0
T Perera 10 1 66 0
Mathews 7 1 23 0
de SIlva 4 0 19 0
Sri Lanka Innings
Batsman Dismissal Bowler Runs Balls
K Perera st Akmal b Ajmal 42 37
Thirimanne b Ajmal 101 108
Sangakkara lbw b Ajmal 0 1
Jayawardene c S Khan b Talha 75 93
Priyanjan c Akmal b J Khan 13 18
Mathews not out 16 13
de Silva not out 6 9
Extras 5w 1nb 1b 1lb 8
Total for 5 261 (46.2 ovs)
Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Hafeez 9 0 42 0
Gul 6 0 44 0
J Khan 9 0 56 1
Ajmal 10 2 26 3
Talha 6.2 0 56 1
Afridi 6 0 35 0

A pre-match surprise saw the tournament's joint-top wicket-taker, Ajantha Mendis, left out of the Sri Lankan side.

Malinga returned after being rested for the last match, with seam bowler Suranga Lakmal retaining his place.

There were two changes for Pakistan. Opener Sharjeel Khan replaced Sohaib Maqsood, while left-arm seamer Junaid Khan came in for left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman

Pakistan won the toss and Misbah-ul-Haq opted to bat first. After five overs they had already lost Khan, Ahmed Shehzad and Mohammad Hafeez, with Malinga claiming all three wickets.

A.M. Ahad/Associated Press

However, a stand of 122 from Misbah and Fawad Alam steadied the ship.

Fawad went on to score a magnificent century. Steady to start with, the 28-year-old upped the firepower in the last 10 overs to guide Pakistan to a respectable score.

Remarkably, the last nine overs of Pakistan's innings included only four dot balls.

Despite Pakistan's rally, Sri Lanka would still have been confident of chasing down the score they had been set.

A solid start saw Perera and Thirimanne put on 56 for the first wicket. 

Until the final, Jayawardene had only scored 36 runs in the whole tournament. 

A.M. Ahad/Associated Press

However, always the one for the big occasion, he and Thirimanne put on 156 runs together and put Sri Lanka in pole position.

Skipper Angelo Mathews fittingly scored the winning runs which saw Sri Lanka deservedly claim victory.

They have been the most consistent team throughout the tournament and their all-round quality shined through in this final.



Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.