Little League World Series 2013: Championship Bracket, Schedule and More

Maxwell Ogden@MaxwellOgdenCorrespondent IIIAugust 22, 2013


The 2013 Little League World Series has provided no shortage of thrills, as some of the world's elite have come together to determine which team truly is the best in the world. Starting on Saturday, Aug. 24, the championship bracket will commence and the best in the world will be named.

Here's how to watch it transpire.

The International Championship game will see Japan attempt to defend its title against Mexico. Japan won the international and Little League World Series titles in 2012 and have gone undefeated in 2013.

Mexico is now 3-1, with the team's only loss coming against Japan.

The U.S. Championship game will take place between Chula Vista, California of the West region and Westport, Connecticut of New England. Chula Vista defeated New England to reach the current stage and is 3-0 in action, overall.

For a full breakdown of what's to come, check below.


International Championship Game

Game: Japan vs. Mexico

Date: Saturday, Aug. 24

Time: 12:30 p.m. ET



U.S. Championship Game

Game: West vs. New England

Date: Saturday, Aug. 24

Time: 3:30 p.m. ET



Third-Place Game

Game: Loser of IC Game vs. Loser of U.S. Game

Date: Sunday, Aug. 25

Time: 11:00 a.m. ET



Little League World Series Championship Game

Game: Winner of IC Game vs. Winner of U.S. Game

Date: Sunday, Aug. 25

Time: 3:00 p.m. ET



Japan's Quest for a Repeat

The most dominant team in the history of the Little League World Series is Taiwan. Taiwan has won 17 titles, which is nine more than the next leading country, but haven't managed to earn a championship since 1996.

Since 1999, however, Japan has emerged as the class of the event.

Japan has won five College World Series titles since 1999, which is three more than any other team in that span. That includes last year's event, when Japan took the 2012 title by defeating a dominant Southeast team for its eighth overall championship.

The question is, can Japan win another?

Japan has gone undefeated thus far, defeating Czech Republic, Chinese Taipei and Mexico. The latter game was the most impressive of all, holding Mexico to two runs after the Tijuana squad had tallied 25 through its first two games.

In order to win their fourth consecutive International Championship, Japan will need to do it all over again as they face Mexico for the second time.


California Is Back Again

As previously alluded to, Japan owns eight Little League World Series titles overall and five since 1999. With that being said, one team has actually matched Japan by splitting the past four titles with the revered international squad.

That team would be California.

Chula Vista, California won in 2009, defeating Taiwan, and Huntington Beach, California picked up the title in 2011, taking down Japan. In 2013, Chula Vista is back again, riding the superstar-caliber performances of Grant Holman.

For those unfamiliar, Holman has done everything at the Little League World Series.

What more could you ask for?

Holman and California will now look to win their third title in five years, earning the right to rival Japan as the best in the world today. If California is to come through in the U.S. Championship game, it will have the chance to do just that.

The question is, can the other contenders derail the top two teams in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania? Or will California and Japan come through once again?

Check back on Saturday, Aug. 24 for answers.