Formula 1: 2013 British Grand Prix Preview

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Formula 1: 2013 British Grand Prix Preview
Clive Mason/Getty Images

After a three-week break to get over the trip to Canada, the British Grand Prix will take place on 30 June at the Silverstone circuit in Northamptonshire, England.

This event is the oldest of the World Championship era. The first race of the inaugural Formula One World Championship was held here in 1950, and there has been a British Grand Prix every year since.

In the days of Michael Schumacher-dominated history lists, some different names get a look in here. Jim Clark and Alain Prost have the most wins in British races, with five apiece. Home favourite Clark's wins came from only eight attempts.

Of the current drivers, Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber have two wins each. Eight times in the past 20 years, the man who won this race went on to become champion.

Silverstone has had many shapes in its layout history and has produced some memorable races in the past. With the Mercedes tyre scandal mostly behind us, let's hope this weekend breathes some new life into the championship battle.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Formula 1

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.