World Men's Curling Championship 2013: Results and Recap for Sweden vs. Canada

Dan Talintyre@@dantalintyreSenior Analyst IIApril 7, 2013

Photo via
Photo via

Sweden has claimed gold at the World Men's Curling Championships after defeating Canada 8-6 in the final at Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.

Canada was gunning for its fourth consecutive world crown, but Brad Jacobs' rink was unable to get past that of Niklas Edin's. Edin was consistent throughout the entire 10 ends of the final—emerging with a comfortable victory in the end as a result.


The European nation raced out to a 4-1 lead after three ends, but saw that lead quickly cut down to just one after a strong fourth end from Canada. Sweden would then add singles in the fifth and sixth ends, respectively, before adding a double in the eight end for a four point lead.

And despite Canada chalking up two points in the ninth end, it was unable to completely claw back the margin and saw their gold medal dreams slip away.

Both Canada and Sweden finished 7-4 from their group stage play behind Scotland, but found themselves in the final after defeats of Scotland and Denmark, respectively. Scotland would go on to win the bronze medal after defeating Denmark 7-6.

Canada had held a 4-2 advantage over Sweden coming into the final here but was forced to play catch-up from the beginning of this match. And after seeing their opponents chalk up a strong lead early, they were always going to be hard-pressed to try and win this one.

Sweden becomes the first team to hold the world and European championships at the same time since 2008-09 and will no doubt take plenty of confidence away from this one having defeated the four-time world champions in their home arena. 


Twitter Reaction

Team Canada's Brad Jacobs was reportedly getting very frustrated with himself:

Which, given the state of the game at some points and how close it was between the two teams at points in the match, is very understandable.

That closeness had in fact been evident across the entire tournament. 

But in the end, there could only be one winner, and that was Sweden.


Hit me up on Twitter for more sports goodness: