San Jose Sharks Award Candidates for 2013 NHL Season

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
San Jose Sharks Award Candidates for 2013 NHL Season
Christian Petersen/Getty Images
Even if the San Jose Sharks win the President's Trophy, Todd McLellan will get less credit for coaching than the two new assistants

Every year, the NHL has an awards show in Las Vegas to celebrate individual achievements during the season. Which San Jose Sharks are candidates?

San Jose rarely even places finalists for such awards, the last being Logan Couture for the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year in 2011. Jonathan Cheechoo did win the Rocket Richard for goals in the same year (2006) that Joe Thornton won both the Hart (MVP) and Art Ross (points) trophies, but that is rare.

Considering how few players from any one team would place as finalists for any award, this list broadens the field. It includes who is San Jose's best candidate for each award, whether he has any chance of getting the award or not.

Why that person deserves the team honour and whether they might be finalists or winners is noted for each.

There is no slide for the Jack Adams Trophy because only coach Todd McLellan could be considered, unless the Sharks are beginning a colossal collapse that could get him fired fast enough for a replacement to earn it. He will not win the award, either, as the player talent and new coaching support will get much of the credit.

There is also no slide for the Vezina because starting goalies do not lose their jobs easily. Antti Niemi is playing well and would continue to get chances through several bad games, leaving Thomas Greiss too little time to win the award in a competitive field.

A typical hot stretch fewer than 40 games for Niemi would be great for him in 2013. It could either cover the season and get him the Vezina or the playoffs and get him a Stanley Cup. If it has already started as his early play suggests, it may well run out in the first round. Look for him to be a finalist for the top goalie.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow San Jose Sharks from B/R on Facebook

Follow San Jose Sharks from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

San Jose Sharks

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.