Ranking the 10 Drivers Who Have the Best Shot to Unseat Brad Keselowski in 2013

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking the 10 Drivers Who Have the Best Shot to Unseat Brad Keselowski in 2013
Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Brad Keselowski was able to win the NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship in only his third full season of competition in 2012. He will be a marked man as each driver will try to take the championship from him in 2013.

Jimmie Johnson made winning multiple championships look easy as he won five in a row from 2006-2010. So, how difficult is it to win back-to-back championships?

Going back-to-back occurs more often in NASCAR than it does in most sports.

Nine drivers have been able to win back-to-back championships. This list includes: Jeff Gordon (1997-1998), Dale Earnhardt (1993-1994, 1990-1991 and 1986-1987), Darrell Waltrip (1981-1982), Cale Yarborough (1976-1977-1978), Richard Petty (1971-1972 and 1974-1975), David Pearson (1968-1969), Joe Wheatley (1962-1963), Lee Petty (1958-1959) and Buck Baker (1956-1957).

When you look at the history of NASCAR, Keselowski should have a chance to win another title in 2013. As good as the 2012 season was for the No. 2 Penske Racing team, there are questions going into the new season.

How will Keselowski adjust to the changes at Penske Racing?

Penske Racing will make the change from Dodge to Ford in 2013. The engines will be manufactured by Roush Yates Engine Department. Will the best Ford equipment go to Keselowski or be kept for the drivers at Roush Fenway Racing? Time will tell.

Keselowski will have to adapt to a new teammate this season. A.J. Allmendinger and Sam Hornish are out of the No. 22 car at Penske Racing and Joey Logano is in.

The two young drivers have a lot of talent and may become a dynamic duo that the rest of the series will have to deal with.

Keselowski is one of the smartest drivers in the garage and his relationship with crew chief Paul Wolfe makes the team a good bet to win back-to-back championships. Keselowski and Wolfe are the only driver and crew chief combo to win a championship in both the Nationwide and Sprint Cup Series.

As each driver works in winter testing to get their cars where they need to be to win the championship, Keselowski and the Blue Deuce team will work to stay on top.

Here is a list of 10 drivers I think will compete for Keselowski’s championship in 2013…

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.