NFL Pro Bowl MVP: Kyle Rudolph Deservingly Wins Pro Bowl Award

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NFL Pro Bowl MVP: Kyle Rudolph Deservingly Wins Pro Bowl Award

The Minnesota Vikings' Kyle Rudolph became the second tight end in NFL history to win the Pro Bowl MVP in a 62-35 win for the NFC.

Here's Rudolph with his trophy following the victory (h/t B/R Twitter):

Rudolph led the NFC side in receiving yards, totaling 122 yards and a touchdown through the air on five receptions.

The tight end averaged 24.4 yards per catch and really developed a nice chemistry with New York Giants QB Eli Manning.

Rudolph wasn't even supposed to be in Hawaii on Sunday, as the second-year tight end wasn't originally voted into the Pro Bowl.

Rudolph was added to the NFC roster as an injury replacement for Atlanta Falcons TE Tony Gonzalez, according to ESPN

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Also vying for NFC MVP was Russell Wilson (8-of-10, 98 yards and three touchdowns), Victor Cruz (10 receptions, 96 yards and a touchdown) and Vincent Jackson (six receptions, 91 yards and two touchdowns).

Had the AFC pulled this one out, the MVP undoubtedly would have been Cincinnati Bengals WR A.J. Green. He smoked the NFC secondary to the tune of seven receptions, 119 yards and three touchdowns.

The Pro Bowl has come under fire the past few seasons for a lack of effort from the players, but 2013's contest may have saved the future of the game.

The players seemed more active and competitive, as J.J. Watt's hand will tell you (h/t B/R):

After watching the performances in the 2013 Pro Bowl, I think it's safe to say the NFL will be back in Hawaii in 2014.

You may hate the game and disagree with the outcome, but the fact of the matter is Kyle Rudolph is your 2013 Pro Bowl MVP.

Follow me on Twitter:

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.