Ranking MLB's Top 50 Players Who Never Won an MVP

« Prev
1 of 51
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Ranking MLB's Top 50 Players Who Never Won an MVP
Photo Credit: USA Today

Few things in baseball generate more debate than the yearly MVP honors, and this season is shaping up to be no different, with Mike Trout and Miguel Cabrera the clear favorites in the AL and a wide-open field in the NL.

The MVP award as we know it began in 1931. Before that, there was the Chalmers Award (1911-1914) and League Awards (1922-1929) that were essentially the same thing.

What follows is a list of the 50 best players to never win an MVP award. My stipulations were that the player has to have played after 1931, when the award began to be handed out annually to a player in each league, and that any active players included on the list have to have been in the league for at least 10 seasons.

I also stuck strictly to hitters, since it is rare that a pitcher who only plays in a fraction of his team's game deserves to win the award.


Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.