NBA All-Star Game an Amazing Show of Talent

Kyle BalingerContributor IFebruary 18, 2009

The NBA All-Star Game is always an amazing game.

The lights, the tricks, the stadium, the coaches, the players, the fans. 

These things build the game and it's all exciting.

The All-Star game would be nothing without its past Most Valuable Player award winners.

This game has featured many multi-time winners, and I am going to give you readers a rundown of the outstanding players.

The two-time winners are Bob Cousy in 1954 and 1957, Dr. J (Julius Erving) in 1977 and 1983, Isiah Thomas in 1984 and 1986, Ervin Johnson in 1990, and 1992, Allen Iverson in 2001 and 2005, and the "King," LeBron James.

Only five players have reached three MVP awards. Four of them are Oscar Robertson in 1961, 1964, and 1969, Michael Jordan in 1988, 1996, and 1998, Shaquille O'Neal in 2000, 2004, and 2009, and finally, Kobe Bryant in 2002, 2007, and in 2009.

Now, there has only been one four-time winner and he is considered the best player in an All-Star Game, Bob Pettit. He won the award in 1956, 1958, 1959, and finally 1962.

The All-Star Game is never a disappointment, even though the East leads the series 35-23 against the West.

However, the West showed that size brings power this year. The final score of this hard-fought game was the West winning against the East by a score of 146-119. The entire game, the West never trailed by more than 15, proving their dominance.

The scoring leader for the East was LeBron James with 20 points. The scoring leader for the west was Kobe Bryant (MVP) with 27 points. The rebound leader for the East was Dwight Howard with nine rebounds, and for the West it was Pau Gasol with eight rebounds.

The assist leaders for the East were Dwayne Wade and Mo Williams, who both had five assists. The assist leader for the West was Chris Paul with 14. Paul captured the only double-double for both teams this game.

This game was very exciting for me and I'm sure many NBA fans agree with me. i'm going to make a bold prediction for next year's game that the West will win and the MVP will be Brandon Roy. Don't hold this over my head though guys if I'm wrong!