Richmond 400 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Richmond 400 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis
Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

When the racers go under the lights Saturday night at Richmond International Raceway, you can guarantee that the results will only come after a wild night of trading paint and full-out wrecks.

After a 32-year hiatus from being on the schedule, the return of the Richmond 400 sponsored by Capital City is one of the biggest moves by NASCAR this year. Now if they would only bring the good ole’ boys back to Rockingham, we’d have a real circuit again.

Check back to this article for the complete post-race leaderboard, reaction and analysis from Richmond!

UPDATE: Sunday, April 29, 11:04 a.m. ET by Donald Wood

After a wild Saturday night at Richmond International Raceway, the eventual finish was something that no NASCAR fan will ever forget. Here is the complete list of where every driver finished.

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  3. Tony Stewart
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Mark Martin
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Carl Edwards
  11. Matt Kenseth
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. AJ Allmendinger
  17. Bobby Labonte
  18. Greg Biffle
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Landon Cassill
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Marcos Ambrose
  23. Jeff Gordon
  24. Joey Logano
  25. Martin Truex Jr.
  26. Aric Almirola
  27. Regan Smith
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Dave Blaney
  30. Travis Kvapil
  31. Jeff Burton
  32. David Ragan
  33. David Reutimann
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Stephen Leicht
  36. David Gilliland
  37. David Stremme
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Michael McDowell
  40. Cole Whitt
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Mike Bliss
  43. Scott Speed

---------End of Update----------

Who Ya Got?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Where: Richmond International Raceway, Richmond, VA

When: Saturday, April 28, 7 p.m. ET

Watch: FOX

Live Stream: TrackPass

Listen: Motor Racing Network

Starting Order

  1. Mark Martin
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. AJ Allmendinger
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Denny Hamlin
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Marcos Ambrose
  15. Regan Smith
  16. Brad Keselowski
  17. Dave Blaney
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Juan Pablo Montoya
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Tony Stewart
  23. Clint Bowyer
  24. Matt Kenseth
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Jimmie Johnson
  28. Greg Biffle
  29. Travis Kvapil
  30. Jeff Burton
  31. Paul Menard
  32. Josh Wise
  33. David Reutimann
  34. David Stremme
  35. Joe Nemechek
  36. Scott Speed
  37. Jamie McMurray
  38. David Ragan
  39. Mike Bliss
  40. Stephen Leicht
  41. Stacy Compton
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Reed Sorenson

Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images


Mark Martin 

The 53-year-old veteran muscled his Toyota to tally his second pole of the season, but it was the fact that Martin won the pole at this race over 30 years ago in September 1981. With this news comes the brutal realization that 1981 was 30 years ago.

Carl Edwards

With a close second-place finish in qualifying, the disappointing 2012 season for Carl Edwards and the No. 99 team can be turned around with one win at Richmond. With a strong car and a nice record at the track, Edwards is looking for redemption.

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Dale Earnhardt Jr.

While Richmond has been the kindest track to Junior over the years, a solid season so far and enough momentum to avoid the Richmond mistakes will guarantee a top-10 finish for Earnhardt if he can stay out of a trouble.

Check back for more on NASCAR as it comes and check out Bleacher Report’s NASCAR Page to get your fill of all things motorsports.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.