Best Kansas City Chiefs Players Tournament, Round 2: 2000s Era Region

Farzin VousoughianContributor IIIMarch 28, 2012

KANSAS CITY, MO - DECEMBER 1:  Tight end Tony Gonzalez #88 of the Kansas City Chiefs dunks the football over the goalposts after catching a touchdown in the second quarter against the Arizona Cardinals on December 1, 2002 at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City, Missouri.  The Chiefs won 49-0.  (Photo by Brian Bahr/Getty Images)
Brian Bahr/Getty Images

We have reached the final set of matches for the second round of the best Chiefs players tournament.

On Monday, No. 1 LB Derrick Thomas and No. 2 G Will Shields blew away No. 3 RB Marcus Allen and No. 5 DE Neil Smith.

Today, you fans get to decide who from the 2000s region deserves to advance to the Elite Eight.

Voting ends at 11:59 p.m. EST.

No. 1 TE Tony Gonzalez vs. No. 5 RB Jamaal Charles

Tony Gonzalez: In 190 games as a member of the Kansas City Chiefs, Tony Gonzalez had no problem shattering the receiving charts in franchise history, despite playing tight end.

Gonzalez has 916 receptions for 10,940 yards and 76 touchdowns in 12 years. He is the only player in franchise history with more than 900 receptions and 10,000 receiving yards.

His best season came in 2004, when he shattered the record for most receptions in a single season by a tight end with 102, which was also more than any pass-catcher that season. Gonzalez finished the season with a career-high 1,258 receiving yards.

Gonzalez owns the league record for career receptions, receiving yards and touchdown catches among all tight ends. As Gonzalez has his name on many record charts, his most notable accomplishment is placing himself second all-time for most receptions in a career. He owns the record for most 1,000-yard receiving seasons for a tight end.

While playing for the Chiefs, Gonzalez has played in 10 Pro Bowls and has earned nine All-Pro honors. The Chiefs have not issued Gonzalez’s jersey number, 88, to another player during the regular season since his departure in 2009.

Jamaal Charles: Jamaal Charles made the best of the opportunity given to him when the Kansas City Chiefs released Larry Johnson. Even though he has only played in 49 games (starting in 19 of them), in four years, Charles is already ninth in rushing yards in franchise history.

Even though he has just 3,027 yards since entering the league in 2008 from Texas, Charles has the highest career yard-per-carry average in franchise history. Charles is going strong and yielding his speed with a 6.1 yard-per-carry average in his career.

This all comes off as very impressive because Charles has spent his entire career sharing the backfield, which many teams are doing in the NFL today.

Charles has become the only player in league history to rush for 1,100 yards in 200 or fewer carries. When Charles did so in 2009, he broke his own record by reaching 1,100 yards in even fewer carries, shining under the national spotlight in 2010.

Charles eventually went on to win the 2010 FedEx Ground Player of the Year Award. He also has one Pro Bowl invitation and one All-Pro honor.

At only 25 years old, Charles is on pace to shatter many franchise rushing records. He already owns the Chiefs’ single-game rushing record with 259 yards against Denver during the 2009 season finale.

No. 2 RB Priest Holmes vs. No. 3 T Willie Roaf

Priest Holmes: Statistically, Holmes is the best running back in franchise history. Holmes, like Green, tried to save his career with the Chiefs after spending four years in Baltimore.

In his first three years, Holmes had more than 1,400 rushing yards each season. In 2002, his second year with the team, Holmes accumulated 2,305 total yards, with 1,615 of them on the ground.

In 2003, Holmes shattered Marshall Faulk’s record for most touchdowns in a single season with 27. Shaun Alexander and LaDainian Tomlinson eventually passed Holmes, who is now third for most touchdowns in a season.

While playing for the Chiefs, Holmes was voted to three Pro Bowls and earned the same amount of All-Pro honors. In 2002, he won the AP NFL Offensive Player of the Year award.

As a Chief, Holmes rushed for 6,070 yards and scored 76 touchdowns on the ground—both franchise records.

Willie Roaf: Coming from the New Orleans Saints, Willie Roaf was big while contributing to Kansas City’s hot offense under Dick Vermeil.

Playing in 58 games, Roaf had no problems protecting Green and paving the way for Priest Holmes and Johnson during his years as a tackle in Kansas City.

Roaf was selected to three Pro Bowls and was selected to one All-Pro team as a member of the Chiefs.

Roaf will represent his old team, the Saints, as he is inducted to the 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame. He will be the first player in Saints history to be inducted.