MLB: How Will Hall of Fame Voters Treat the Class of 2013?

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
MLB: How Will Hall of Fame Voters Treat the Class of 2013?
David Paul Morris/Getty Images
Who will join Larking in the Hall of Fame in 2013?

Before former Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin’s Hall of Fame plaque could be ordered on Monday, talk had already turned to the 2013 class of eligible players, but for all the wrong reasons.

Between 1984 and 2007, the names Biggio, Piazza, Bonds, Schilling, Sosa and Clemens were synonymous with greatness. There was also a period of time when a few of these names were linked to performance enhancing drugs, thus tarnishing America’s pastime in the wake of their indelible mark on baseball.  

On statistics and accomplishments alone, the first-time eligible players for the 2013 National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York could be considered the greatest class inducted since Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Christy Mathewson, Honus Wagner and Walter Johnson entered in 1936. But because of the “steroid era,” question marks hover over some of the game's  greatest players.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.