Miami Football: Handing out the Postseason Hardware for the Hurricanes.

Bleacher ReportCorrespondent IDecember 14, 2011

Miami Football: Handing out the Postseason Hardware for the Hurricanes.

0 of 6

    Every year, the University of Miami holds an annual Football Award banquet, awarding players who were the best of the best on the team. Some of them are voted on by the coaches, while there are a couple that are voted on by the players.

    As someone that doesn't go to practices, there are many awards I cannot give out as I don't know who the "Scout Team Player of the Year" is.

    Here are my votes on the Miami award winners for the 2011 season.

    Here is the official list of the 2011 winners.

2010 Award Winners

1 of 6

    Here are a list of all the awards that were given out last year at the official banquet.*

    Jack Harding (MVP): Leonard Hankerson, Sean Spence
    Newcomer of the Year: Seantrel Henderson
    Special Teams Player of the Year: Matt Bosher
    Scout Team Player of the Year-Offense: Storm Johnson, Cory White
    Scout Team Player of the Year-Defense: Nate Gholston, Sean Goldstein
    Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-on Award: Chris Ivory
    Strength Training Athlete of the Year: Allen Bailey
    Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player: Richard Gordon, Vaughan Telemaque
    U Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award: Ryan Hill, Orlando Franklin
    URespect Award "Sportsmanship": Josh Holmes
    Training Room Comeback Player of the Year: Patrick Hill
    Hard Hitter Award: Colin McCarthy
    Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award—Commitment, Consistency, Work Ethic: Brandon Harris
    Mariutto Family Scholarship Award for Academic Excellence: Pat Hill
    Community Service Man of the Year Award: Brandon Harris, Jacory Harris
    Hurricane Media "Good Guy" Award: Damien Berry

    *Source of list.

Hard-Hitter Award

2 of 6

    Nominees: Denzel Perryman, Sean Spence, Anthony Chickillo, Andrew Swasey and Marcus Robinson

    Winner: Denzel Perryman

    Why: Denzel Perryman won this hands down in my eyes. Perryman was a one-man wrecking crew and destroyed players every chance he got.

    At least one time in every game this year Perryman made a bone-crushing hit, and he led the team in forced fumbles with two.

    Although Spence is one of the better overall linebackers in Miami history, I am confident that Perryman's name will join the list of all-time greats by the time he leaves Miami.

    Note: Perryman earned 2011 Freshman All-American team.

Newcomer of the Year

3 of 6

    Nominees: Anthony Chickillo, Denzel Perryman and Phillip Dorsett.

    Winner: Denzel Perryman and Anthony Chickillo

    Why: This one was really close as I didn't know who to choose between Chickiillo and Perryman, so I picked them both.

    Their statistics are almost identical.

    Perryman ended the season second on the team in tackles (69), tied for third in tackles for loss (6.5), and he had one sack as well as one forced fumble.

    Chickillo was seventh on the team in tackles (38), tied for third in tackles for loss (6.5), tied for first in sacks (5), had one fumble recovery and one forced fumble.

    They both brought upgrades in their very first season with the Hurricanes and deserve to share the award.

Special Teams Player of the Year

4 of 6

    Nominees: Dalton Botts, Travis Benjamin, Ray Ray Armstrong, Phillip Dorsett, Andrew Swasey and Jake Wieclaw

    Winner: Jake Wieclaw

    Why: This was the easiest one for me to pick. Wieclaw had huge shoes to fill after last year's winner, Matt Bosher, graduated from Miami and did so with ease.

    Wieclaw finished the season making 11 of 14 field goals and all 39 extra points.

    He did such a great job filling in for Bosher that he was a semifinalist for the Lou Groza award, which is given to the best kicker in the country.

Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player

5 of 6

    Nominees: Tommy Streeter, Jacory Harris, Allen Hurns, Mike Williams and Jordan Futch

    Winner: Tommy Streeter and Jacory Harris

    Why: Sorry everyone, but I had to give these two players the award. As good as Streeter was this year compared to seasons past, there was no way I'm not giving part of the award to Harris.

    Harris had a horrible season last year, throwing 15 interceptions and 14 touchdowns.  He completed a dismal 54.8 percent of his passes and ended the season with a quarterback rating of 116.6.

    This year Harris turned around his season and threw 20 touchdowns to just nine interceptions, four of them coming in the last game against Boston College.  He completed 65.3 percent of his passes and ended the season with the 18th-highest quarterback rating in the country at 150.3.

    The other winner of the award, Tommy Streeter, was pretty much nonexistent for his first two years of his college career.

    Streeter came into the season with just six catches for 156 yards and a touchdown in his career.

    This year Streeter led the team in receptions (46), yards (811) and touchdowns (eight).

Jack Harding (MVP)

6 of 6

    Nominees: Sean Spence, Tommy Streeter, Denzel Perryman, Anthony Chickillo, Lamar Miller, Travis Benjamin and JoJo Nicolas.

    Winner: Lamar Miller

    Why: Was there any other player better than Lamar Miller this year for the Miami Hurricanes? He rushed for 1,273 yards and 10 touchdowns, nine rushing.

    He became the first running back since Willis McGahee in 2002 to run for over 1,000 yards in a season.

    If the offensive line didn't struggle as much as they did, there is no doubt Miller would have come close to breaking the Hurricanes all-time rushing yards in a season (1,753—McGahee, 2002).