NCAA Football: 2011 All-Big Ten Football Team

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NCAA Football: 2011 All-Big Ten Football Team
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The Big Ten's inaugural conference championship game will pit the Michigan State Spartans against the Wisconsin Badgers.

Perhaps it is an unlikely pairing for the conference of Michigan and Ohio State.

On the other hand, the matchup couldn't have been that much of a surprise. The Badgers were the early-season favorite to represent the East in the championship game. Meanwhile, the Spartans were most people's second choice—following Nebraska—to represent the West.

The winner of the game will go on to the Rose Bowl. Furthermore, at 10-2, Michigan won't be the conference champion, but will have a shot to go to the Sugar or Fiesta Bowl.

Finally, there is the question of whether the NCAA and the Big Ten will tolerate institutional negligence on as grand a scale as Penn State displayed; and whether the Nits will be allowed to go bowling. However, that is not for me to decide.

Yes, it has been another great year of football in the Big Ten, and with great years of football comes superlative awards.

In truth, most end-of-the-year college awards have as much to do with reputation as with actual accomplishments.

Despite this, I will attempt to bestow these highly prestigious honors on players that have specifically earned it due to their on-the-field accomplishments.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Big Ten Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.