Who Will Win the Heisman Trophy?

Sam TastadCorrespondent IIIDecember 13, 2008

On Saturday night, the 2008 Heisman Trophy will be presented to the one of the three finalists: Tim Tebow of the Florida Gators, Sam Bradford of the Oklahoma Sooners, and Colt McCoy of the Texas Longhorns. All three are quarterbacks, with Bradford and McCoy from the Big 12.

Tebow is trying to become the second player to win the Heisman trophy two consecutive years. Archie Griffin of Ohio State was the first to accomplish the feat.

This season, Tebow has led the Gators to the SEC championship and a 12-1 record. The Gators are currently No. 2 in the BCS standings and await the Sooners in the BCS national championship game. Tebow has thrown for 2,515 yards and 28 touchdowns against two interceptions, completing 174-of-268 passes thrown this season for a 64.9 percent clip. He has also rushed for 12 touchdowns and 564 yards.

Sam Bradford is the quarterback for the Oklahoma Sooners, and has led the Sooners to a Big 12 championship this season. He also has led the Sooners to a current No. 1 ranking in the BCS standings, and a spot in the BCS national championship game against the Gators.

Also, he led the Sooners to 12-1 record this season. This season, Bradford has thrown for 4,464 yards and 48 touchdowns. He has also completed 302-of-442 passes thrown, for a completion percentage of 68.3 percent. He has only thrown for six interceptions on the season. He also has five rushing touchdowns on the season. Bradford has also led the Sooners to scoring 60 points or more in five consecutive games this season.

Colt McCoy is the quarterback of the Texas Longhorns, leading them to a No. 3 ranking in the BCS standings. His Longhorns will play in the Fiesta Bowl vs. Ohio State. This season, McCoy has thrown for 3,445 yards and 32 touchdowns. He has completed 291-of-375 passes thrown this season, for a completion percentage of 77.6 percent. He has only thrown seven interceptions this season. He has also rushed for 10 touchdowns and 576 yards.

Tonight the winner will be revealed...who will win the 2008 Heisman Trophy?