S.M.'s Camping World Update (Issue No. 21)

Horn FanSenior Writer IDecember 4, 2008


Ergon Hyprene will not be returning in 2009 as sponsor for Billy Ballew Motorsports No. 15 truck and maybe headed to another team.

Crew Chief Doug Richert will not be back with Mike Skinner and Bill Davis Racing and is looking for a new crew chief job.

Johnny Sauter and ThorSport Racing maybe in negotiation for him to drive the team's No. 13 truck in 2009, as a teammate to Matt Crafton.



While many teams are downsizing, ThorSport Racing, based in Sandusky, are looking to employ and expand in 2009. They run two truck teams in the coming season, and will expand to run more Nationwide Series.

To Update Wyler Racing, while they want to expand, this week they laid off 10 people and announced if no sponsor is found by Feb. 1, the team will be shutting down.


Reminder About the Banquet

Don't forget that Speed TV will be airing a highlight special from the NCTS Awards Banquet on Dec. 8 at 8 p.m., hosted by Krista Voda and Rick Allen.


My Favorites In The NCWTS

Favorite Driver: Ron Hornaday, Jr.

Favorite Crew Chief: Rick Ren and Trip Bruce

Favorite Team: Kevin Harvick, Inc.

Favorite Tracks: Memphis Motorsports Park, Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, and Bristol Motor Speedway

Favorite Manufacture: GM Chevrolet Silverado

Favorite Sprint Cup Series Regular: Kevin Harvick, although not as often as I'd like him to run.

Favorite Sponsor: Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States

Favorite Race from 2008: The Nov. 7 at Phoenix, The Lucas Oil 150

All-Time Favorite Truck Race: This one was tough, but it's the Spring 2005 Martinsville Truck race, when Bobby Labonte, won the Kroger 250, driving the No. 47 Trick Pony/Rodeway Inn/Econo Lodge Chevrolet Silverado for the then Morgan-Dollar Motorports team.

Favorite Young Gun Drivers: J.R. Fitzpatrick and Brian Scott

Favorite Commentator: Krista Voda