6 Weight Classes That Boxing Could Do Without

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
6 Weight Classes That Boxing Could Do Without

Boxing used to have eight divisions.

Flyweight, featherweight, lightweight, welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight and heavyweight.

As fighters began to cut more weight, belt organizations became greedier, the fighters grew bigger and there came a need for more divisions.

In many of the higher weight divisions this is needed.  Losing one division would leave a 10 pound gap, which would lead to many fighters either damaging their bodies to make weight or being beaten on by much bigger opponents.

This isn't completely true, but the gap in the smaller weight classes seems less pronounced.

So let's start the countdown.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds


Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.