Mr. Olympia 2011 Results: Recapping This Year's Event

Matt FaulconerFeatured ColumnistSeptember 17, 2011

There is a new Mr. Olympia. Phil Heath narrowly edged out four-time champ Jay Cutler to take home the title.

Iris Kyle successfully defended her Ms. Olympia crown. It is her fifth straight title and sixth overall.

The 2011 Mr. Olympia event started September 15th and is concluding today, September 18th. It featured the best bodybuilders in the world.

This year, the competitors were in fabulous Las Vegas for a chance to earn bodybuilding glory.

This year's competition is divided up into six individual events:

Men's Events
Women's Events
Mr. Olympia - Phil Heath
Ms. Olympia - Iris Kyle
202 Showdown - Kevin English
Fitness Olympia - Adela Garcia
  Figure Olympia - Nicole Watkins
  Bikini Olympia - Nicole Nagrani

Jay Cutler's loss can be considered an upset.

He was the two-time defending champion and had won four of the last five, with Dexter Jackson taking home the crown in 2008.

Kevin English successfully defended his 202 showdown title, and has now won the event three consecutive years.

Nicole Wilkins upset defending champion Erin Stern to take home her first Figure Olympia title.

There were no surprises in the Fitness Olympia competition, as Adela Garcia completed a three-peat, and won her fifth title in the last six years.

Nicole Nagrani won her first ever Bikini Olympia title, knocking off 2010 champion Sonia Gonzales among a field of other competitors.